When Good Food Goes Wrong

Sometimes the best intentions don’t work out the way you want them to. My past few days have been filled with plenty of culinary disappointments. For a while, I’ve been considering temporarily becoming a vegetarian, and so I’ve started looking for alternate protein sources. Whenever I go vegetarian, I have a strong tendency to eat far too much cheese and load spoonfuls of peanut butter on top of everything. Of course, nothing I’ve made lately has actually been vegetarian, but I’ve been experimenting with black beans. Last night I tried to make pork chops breaded in panko breadcrumbs with black beans and mashed potatoes on the side. The potatoes happened to be leftover, and having never cooked beans before, I threw them in the skillet with the pork. I know I had too much oil in the pan, but I don’t know if you’ve ever had the pleasure of exploding beans. The beans I was cooking literally danced right out of their bean-coats… I know beans don’t have a shell, but whatever the casing is that they’re enclosed in. It just wasn’t pretty. Then, I tried to cook up the leftover egg from breading the pork, and it turned into a dry mini omelet. It wasn’t entirely awful, but I don’t think I’m rushing to make it again.

After I went to the gym (*pause to pat myself on the back for actually making it all the way over there for the first time this year*) I was craving lots of protein, and turned to a can of tuna and some leftover beans. I sliced some wheat bread, piled tuna and beans on top of it, and then added, of all things, cream cheese, because I wanted to make sure I had enough cheddar left if I made mac and cheese later on. Surprisingly, the cream cheese was not the worst part of this combination. It melted up nicely in the microwave. The low point had to be the beans. Maybe black beans and I just aren’t meant to get along. I can accept that, but I was still disappointed.

Tonight tops off the list… lamb sausage which I paired with whole wheat penne and pasta sauce. I pan fried the sausage, and then finished it off by letting it cook in the tomato sauce – I have a tendency of under cooking meatballs, and while I know it’s not the same, I didn’t want to take a chance with lamb. Tonight was one of those nights where the water doesn’t boil, regardless of how much you salt the pot. Overall, it wasn’t a bad dish, if not a touch too lamb-y for my taste. I felt like I was in some sort of strange Moroccan/Italian fusion world. All in all it is certainly worth another try.

Also, to anyone in my building: please clean the dryer lint trap when you use it. Come on y’all… my clothes get linty enough without your help.

‘Night y’all 🙂

20130130-221004.jpg

20130130-221016.jpg

20130130-221031.jpg

20130130-221039.jpg

Leave a Reply

