Procrastination Monday

The Monday after Spring Break (Ahem, Canadians call it “Reading Week”, whatever that is.  Who actually gets any work done over break?), I am finally finished with a big, bad, stress-inducing presentation, and unfortunately, not inclined to get any work done.  This does not bode necessarily well for big bad scary presentation #2 of the week, which will take place on Thursday.  I know I will get it together before then, but I wish I didn’t work so much better under pressure.  I would have many fewer sleepless nights if I could just convince myself to get myself together before the last minute!  I’m hoping a well-timed blog post can induce me into more strenuous school work.  We’ll see…

This weekend was hectic… it involved one of my least favorite modes of transport: the dreaded bus.  I’m not good in situations where I’m stuck in an inclosed space with many people I do not know.  Coupled with intense motion sickness and a fear of throwing up in public, the bus is not always fun.  Somehow, however, in the time it took to go grab my wallet after I pulled up the Amtrak site, all of the seats were sold out, and I had no other way to get myself back to school than the B-word.  Overall, it wasn’t awful.  The Albany bus station is as sketchy as ever, and they could use a bunch more power outlets. (Yes, I know buses know frequently have power and wifi on the bus, but I couldn’t really think of a way to reach over my sleeping seatmate to plug my phone in without being excessively creepy.)  The schlepp back to my apartment from the bus station with 30lbs of luggage was draining, and when I got back I revisited the lesson that it’s generally helpful to handle all dirty dishes and questionable refrigerator smells before one leaves town for an extended period of time.  My homecoming could have been a lot worse, but I did spend a good half hour scrubbing dishes and tossing moldy substances out of my refrigerator.  Yuck!

Making Saturday night dinner I had another life lesson – when using regular ground beef instead of extra lean, it’s probably a good idea to drain the meatballs before adding the sauce unless you want a thin layer of grease on top.  Sunday I slept much later than I wanted to (**GRRR daylight savings**.  One year I may revolt and refuse to turn my clocks ahead), did much studying and preparation for scary public-speaking phobia-inducing presentation, and schlepped to the faraway bagel place.  How or why the two bagel places in town are centrally located only in their proximity to each other, and are otherwise a good 45 minute hike uphill from downtown, I do not think I will ever understand.

Today, glad to be free from some academic pressure for now, I took advantage of the beautiful weather and went for a run.  I started out towards the gym, but it was so nice out, I thought I’d try and work on my tan, Jersey native that I am.  I will never use a tanning salon, but that doesn’t stop me from trying to maximize my outdoor exposure.  Being in the sun just makes me so happy!  I don’t know… is it possible to get tan in Canada at all, or is it too far north?  What do you people think?

Tonight is going to entail *le sigh* more schoolwork, and I think I’ll be defrosting a failed attempt at a Crock Pot dinner with organic pork.  I’m hoping I can salvage it into something more edible than it was when I gave up and threw it in the freezer.

Happy Monday, y’all!  I hope your weeks are off to a productive and happy start.  The longer hours in the evening may be messing with my sleep schedule, but it does mean spring is just around the corner.  Beach time can’t be that far off!!

Leave a Reply

