Weekend Recap 9.9.13

Happy Monday everyone! How was your weekend? I spent mine celebrating Rosh Hashannah with friends, exploring Montreal, eating too much brownie batter, and as some of you already know, fighting with an Ikea rolling butcher block. That story starts with schlepping almost six miles to and fro Home Depot, where everyone only spoke French and generally ignored me because I am not a man. Eventually, power screwdriver on my side, I got the thing together. I still have serious issues with the way it was designed and might be taking a break from Ikea for the near future, for the sake of my sanity. I am happy with how it came together, and I’m finding that each day I’m able to organize and personalize my new apartment a little bit more.

Sunday was very relaxing, and culminated in transforming the rotisserie chicken that was taking up residence in my fridge into something more appealing… chicken pot pie with a cornbread crust. Normally I’m partial to a double-crust pot pie, but I didn’t want to spend the whole day cooking, and the cornbread topping seemed so simple and easy! The slight hitch to the recipe was that my local grocery store did not, in fact carry corn meal, so I substituted more flour and whole corn kernels. This is the recipe I used: http://cristinaferrarecooks.com/2012/04/chicken-pot-pie-with-cornmeal-crust/ although I was quite lenient with the proportions. Instead of ramekins or a casserole, I used a 9 inch pie plate. I cut enough chicken until I thought I had enough… probably closer to three cups than two. I omitted the peas because, well, they go squish, and added some fresh corn because I had some on hand and I love corn. Instead of chopping whole carrots, I used baby carrots, which seemed to work just fine. It came out deliciously! I will definitely make this recipe again.

Even though I’m in love with my apartment (seriously, if I could marry my bed I might), I’m always looking for crafty ways to decorate and make the space my own. What have you done to personalize your space? What have you always wanted to try but been too afraid to? Let me know and maybe I will try some of your ideas out. In the meantime, I will keep you posted on my crafting adventures.

20130909-104419.jpg

20130909-104427.jpg

20130909-104435.jpg

20130909-104441.jpg

20130909-104447.jpg

20130909-105622.jpg

2 thoughts on “Weekend Recap 9.9.13

Leave a Reply

