Weekend Cooking

This weekend was not very productive, but fairly relaxing, and a lot of fun. I honestly cannot remember what I did for most of Saturday, but I did start a chocolate peanut butter bar recipe that I saw on TV. The original recipe can be found here: http://abc.go.com/shows/the-chew/recipes/Chocolate-Peanut-Butter-Bars-Allison-Fishman-Task. I changed up the recipe a little; I used two eggs instead of one egg and an egg white, just because I didn’t want to store an egg white and/or throw it out. I didn’t have canola oil so I used olive oil, which worked out fine – the butter flavor cancelled out the olive oil flavor. I used chunky peanut butter instead of creamy, only because I didn’t have creamy, and really, I like chunky better. I think the texture is just better and more appealing. I didn’t measure my flour, but used about 3/4 cup, and in that included probably a 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour mixed in with the all-purpose white. I try and sneak in a little whole wheat flour in whatever I make just to add some nutrients. I also don’t have cooking spray, so I simply greased my pan with butter. The peanut butter bar part seemed to bake just fine. At this point, I was getting ready to go out for the night, and didn’t want to take the time to measure and melt chocolate in a double boiler, so I threw handfuls of chocolate chips on top of the still-warm peanut butter bar, and put it all back in the still warm oven, thinking I could beat the system and it would melt by the time I got home. In short, it didn’t. I tried a few more times to melt it in a low oven, at 200 or 250 degrees Fahrenheit, but finally had to use a spatula to spread the chocolate. I then put everything in the fridge to set up. Is it yummy? Yes. Am I absolutely addicted and can’t stop eating it? No, which could be a good thing. Also, it could be because I didn’t measure my flour or kept the peanut butter crust in the oven for so long, but the bars came out quite crispy, and not as chewy as I had hoped. I’ll have to try it another time and see how it comes out. Have you tried this recipe yet? How did it turn out for you?

Sunday morning I made an egg and cheese sandwich on a bagel.  So good!  A moist sunny-side-up egg with cheddar cheese on a toasted sesame bagel.  An easy and yummy breakfast!!  Sunday I finally made it outside around 5pm. I went to the store for butter, and came back with so much more. Whole chicken was on sale and it sounded so good. I rinsed it under running water, quickly checked to make sure there was nothing inside of it, patted it dry with a paper towel, and arranged it in my French oven with sprigs of rosemary, some inside the body cavity and some around the top. I added baby carrots and cut up zucchini, rubbed the chicken with olive oil and sea salt, and put it in the oven uncovered at 425 degrees Fahrenheit for 15 minutes before turning it down to 375. Cooking this chicken seemed to take forever. I let it cook for an hour after the first 15 minutes and checked it every 15 minutes thereafter but it would not come up to temperature with the thermometer. This wasn’t a huge chicken; only 2.5 pounds, but it took 1:45 total to cook. It did come out yummy in the end, crispy on the outside and moist on the inside. A success by all accounts!  The pictures that follow are the peanut butter batter, the finished peanut butter bars, my yummy bagel sandwich, and the cooked chicken (minus a thigh because I’d already eaten part of it when I remembered I wanted to take a picture).  Enjoy!

20131028-102020.jpg

20131028-102027.jpg

20131028-102040.jpg

20131028-102050.jpg

Leave a Reply

