Biscuits on a Monday Night/Biscuits on a Tuesday Morning

It’s definitely chilly this morning in Montreal. When I woke up before 8 it was 27 degrees, and since then it’s warmed up to… 28. I have some errands and odds and ends to get done today, and this is the second morning I’ve been waiting for my building maintenance to come at 8 and they haven’t. All of this, of course, means it is the perfect morning to stay snuggled up drinking coffee and make a yummy breakfast.

Last night I somehow convinced myself that I had to have biscuits, which is an odd craving for me, but you can’t explain cravings. I looked up biscuit recipes and found this recipe here: http://www.marthastewart.com/316713/flaky-buttery-biscuits Thank you Martha! It didn’t seem overly complicated, and I tried to follow the recipe as close as possible. I may have added more butter, but only because I’m still not very good at reading Canadian butter. It comes in 1 pound blocks all together, as opposed to in the States where it is packaged in individually wrapped quarters. Yes, there are markings on the side of the Canadian butter as well, but in this case, it didn’t include teaspoons or tablespoons, so I just had to take my best shot. I went with all white flour, mostly because I was tired and forgot to add some whole wheat. The batter took about a cup to a cup and a quarter of milk (I went with the softer biscuit version of the recipe because I was feeling lazy and didn’t want to roll and cut dough). I was definitely skeptical, but Martha came through again. I ended up eating three biscuits last night because they were so good, and they went perfectly with my leftover chicken. You can see my roast chicken recipe here: https://sophisticatedjerseygirl.wordpress.com/2013/10/28/weekend-cooking/

Fast forward to this morning, and I was able to incorporate my biscuits into a yummy breakfast. Sunny side up egg with a biscuit heated in my frying pan, PLUS remember when I made lard? If not, you can read about it here: https://sophisticatedjerseygirl.wordpress.com/2013/10/15/canadian-thanksgiving-aka-my-time-as-butcher-aka-making-lard-from-scratch/ After making the lard, I was left with these delicious little pieces of hard fat. It sounds gross, but they are delicious!! Since I made them, I’ve been finding ways to sneak them into all sorts of dishes, like meatballs. Ok, mainly meatballs. But I’ve also been heating them up and frying them alongside eggs, which is exactly what I did today. On days when it’s ghastly chilly out, it’s the little things that make you happy. A nice cup of coffee, a gooey sunnyside up egg, biscuits and crunchy lard bits. I’m a happy girl. What do you think? What are the things that make your mornings just a little bit better?

UPDATE: My link to Martha’s biscuits doesn’t seem to work all the time. Copy and pasting the link seems to work, but something isn’t letting me click directly from my blog to her site. To save you guys the work, here is the recipe:

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 6 tablespoons (3/4 stick) chilled unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
  • 3/4 cup milk (For softer, cakier biscuits, add more milk and spoon the mixture onto the baking sheet. Firmer biscuits require less milk and should be rolled out and cut.)
    1. Step 1

      Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Butter or line a baking sheet.

    2. Step 2

      In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Using a fork or 2 table knives, combine the butter and flour mixture until it resembles a coarse meal. Slowly add the milk, stirring with a fork, to the desired consistency.

    3. Step 3

      For softer biscuits, drop 2 tablespoons of the dough onto the lined baking sheet. For firmer biscuits, turn the dough out onto a clean, lightly floured surface and gently knead just to bring the dough together. Carefully roll out the dough about 3/4 inch thick. Using a biscuit cutter or sturdy glass, cut about 12 biscuits, rerolling any scraps. Place on the lined baking sheet. (The biscuits can be frozen at this point. Freeze on the baking sheet, then remove to a resealable container or plastic bag for easier storage.) Bake the biscuits for 13 to 15 minutes (add 3 to 4 additional minutes for frozen ones), until golden brown. Cool slightly and serve warm.

20131029-102954.jpg

20131029-103015.jpg

20131029-103024.jpg

20131029-103031.jpg

Leave a Reply

