A Nice Autumn Day

I have good news and bad news tonight.  The good news is that I finally made something for dinner blog-worthy.  I feel like it’s been forever since I posted and wanted to take the time to share my dinner with y’all.  The bad news is that I was so hungry by the time I made dinner that I completely forgot to take any pictures until I’d eaten the last bite.  We all know blog posts without pictures are boring, but it’s what I’m working with right now.

Today was either unseasonably warm, or, the rest of the time it has been unseasonably cold here, so a day in the low-to-mid-50s (Fahrenheit, always Fahrenheit) felt like a heat wave!  I took the time to schlep up to my favorite outdoor market.  I was going to take advantage of the weather and use one of the Bixi bikes (you people in the NYC area might be more familiar with them as Citi bikes) before they all get taken away next week on the 15th.  Major fail.  The bikes are there, but for whatever reason, and I can only assume it’s the drastic changes in temperature, none of the seats on the bikes were adjustable and they were all stuck down at infant height or jacked all the way up to NBA player.  Nothing in between.  I ended up taking the metro, which is nice and decent enough except whoever planned it must have been on drugs because IT MAKES NO SENSE.  Sorry for the rage, but, if you’re unfamiliar with Montreal, picture a city with 95 percent of any possible activity or destination in one central area and a metro system built as a large rectangle around the perimeter.  Better yet, here’s a metro map:

The heart of the town is the area between the blue and green and orange lines.  There are a few options for passengers traveling east and west, but to go north and south, there is only the orange line which is not very central.  Montreal has four different metro lines and yet, unless your origin and destination happen to be on the same color line, there is no way to get directly across the city without transferring lines a minimum of twice.  Off the top of my head I could name two places where I would add a 5th metro line to the city, ya know, if the metro people happened to ask what I thought.  So, the metro happened, and then I had to find my way to the market from the metro, which I’ve never done before since I usually bike.  It all worked out, and I remarkably didn’t get lost (yay for a sense of direction!), but sadly found (and I don’t know why I wasn’t expecting this – it’s common sense) that the market was much smaller now in November than it was over the summer or even a month ago.  Duh it’s cold and A) there are fewer things to harvest and B) no one wants to schlep out in the cold, especially not to a market with dwindling produce.  Once I got over my shock, it was actually quite nice.  I picked up some apples for a pie, green beans because they looked delicious, and carrots because I seem to put them in everything lately.  I also picked up some butternut squash because it was there and some much needed cheese, as well as some homemade pasta from my favorite pasta place (two kinds, one for tonight, one for later in the week).  I was able to bike most of the way home before taking a donut break at Chez Boris.  Yummmmmm!  Thank Goodness I don’t live super close to that place or I’d have donuts every day.

For dinner I made string beans in a frying pan with a little bit of olive oil, and the meat-filled mezzalune that I got from the pasta store.  I used regular sauce from a jar (I know, I know.  It’s all natural though and doesn’t have high-fructose corn syrup or anything icky like that in it) and added some milk to make it creamier.  My only idiot move was when I thought it would be a good idea to add some of the starchy pasta water to the beans I was sauteeing in oil.  I don’t know what I was thinking, or why I didn’t think the oil would start to pop and fizzle.  It’s all good, just one of those times you really question your own intelligence.

That’s all I really have going on, aside from my “garden” update.  This weekend I tried re-potting some of my plants and I added stakes to my tomato plant which seems to be thriving inside.  I have two tomatoes that are taking forever to ripen, and several more flowers.  I realized how root-bound my basil was and actually broke my scissors clipping away at the roots, and now it’s looking kind of sad and wilted even though the pot it is in now is a vast improvement from the vase of just water it was in for almost two months.  My rosemary is still hanging on by a thread, and I don’t want to jinx it.  My carrot tops are growing nicely.  I have no idea what I’m going to do with them or what I’m planting them in, but they’re fun to look at and I like the touch of green in my apartment.

I promise, next time, I will take pictures to share.  Happy Halfway to Friday 🙂

Leave a Reply

