Brie Wheel with Almonds and Honey Wrapped in Puff Pastry

I’ve successfully avoided making or eating most things brie in Montreal for over a year, which has not always been easy in this French-influenced city where brie is everywhere (brie omelet, anyone?). I love it, I’m just afraid that once I start I won’t be able to stop. Last night, I gave in, and threw together a brie wheel in pastry. Thank goodness for friends, because they let us make delicious food and share it so we don’t have to eat it all by ourselves at one sitting!!

I used this recipe for inspiration: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/baked-brie-in-puff-pastry/

I didn’t try to make the puff pastry from scratch, but got some frozen at the grocery store. Having never made it from scratch, I was not in the mood to try. That’s a project for another day. I realized an hour before I had to be at my dinner destination that you’re supposed to thaw the puff pastry for two hours. That was obviously not going to happen. I unwrapped it carefully and slowly, trying to use my fingers to heat up the creases where it was wrapped over itself. The pastry is rolled up around itself on parchment paper, so the part that you unwrap first will thaw a bit more quickly and be more pliable than the part that was further inside. If you want perfect presentation, make sure to let the puff pastry thaw before you try and work with it. I, on the other hand, let my pastry thaw for 5 minutes, and it seemed to work out pretty well.

Lay parchment paper at the bottom of a pie plate.

Unroll the puff pastry and put on top of the parchment.

Slice your brie wheel in half so you have two flatter rounds.

Place the first half (rind side down) on the pastry.

Layer almonds on the half and drizzle with honey.

Place second half of brie on top (rind side up).

Wrap the pastry around it like a bundle and bake.

Let cool slightly and enjoy!

It was pretty yummy! Next time I think I’d like to try it fresh out of the oven, but even cooled it was not bad. I used whole dry roasted almonds instead of sliced almonds, and I think they worked just as well. Try this as an easy holiday recipe… it’s foolproof and who doesn’t like cheese? Have you tried this before? What are your favorite ways to eat brie?

20131109-131605.jpg

20131109-131612.jpg

20131109-131630.jpg

20131109-131641.jpg

20131109-131647.jpg

2 thoughts on “Brie Wheel with Almonds and Honey Wrapped in Puff Pastry

Leave a Reply

