Twofer Tuesday: Two Squash Recipes in One Post

That’s right – two squash recipes. I got tired of staring at the butternut squash on my counter and finally made the squash mac and cheese I’ve been thinking about all week. The recipe is here: http://www.marthastewart.com/337716/macaroni-and-cheese-with-butternut-squas?czone=food%2Fproduce-guide-cnt%2Fproduce-guide-fall&gallery=275653&slide=337716&center=276955

I tried to follow the recipe as closely as possible, but of course, made my own modifications. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken stock because I wanted to try and make it vegetarian, 1% milk instead of non-fat, and whole wheat rigatoni instead of elbow macaroni because that was what I had on hand. I also used Panko breadcrumbs, and sour cream instead of ricotta because I couldn’t find it anywhere in the grocery store (O, Canada!). I also added some cut-up carrots to the squash mixture both to use them up and to try and sneak in some veggies. All of the steps were easy enough; the hardest part was peeling the squash. My hands are still a little orange and my computer is covered in squash. I’m thinking the squash was supposed to act like cheese in the dish because there isn’t nearly enough real cheese, in my opinion. I’ve added more sour cream as I’ve been eating it, but I think the real solution would be to add more cheese next time. I’m thinking it could make a good Thanksgiving recipe, or even a way to sneak veggies in for kids.

I saved the butternut squash seeds and roasted them following this recipe: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/roasted-winter-squash-seeds/  It was super easy.  The recipe calls for 15 minutes in the oven and I must have left my seeds in for almost half an hour but they still didn’t pop like they were supposed to.  I took them out so I wouldn’t completely char them, and they were just as yummy.  I can’t wait to make something squashy again to save the seeds and roast them!!  What do you think?  What are your favorite squash recipes?

I saw the first snow flurries of the season in Montreal today.  I’m excited for winter weather to come and have everything blanketed in snow and pretty!  I hope everyone is staying warm and dry!

UPDATE: What would a blog post be if all the links worked properly?  This time it seems to be the seed roasting recipe that isn’t working, so, here it is.  1 cup winter squash seeds, 1 tbsp olive oil and 1/2 tsp salt to taste.  1) Preheat oven to 275 degrees Fahrenheit.  2) Rinse and pat dry seeds.  Clean all the stringy squash bits off of them.  3) Mix in a bowl with the oil and salt.  4) Spread into a single layer on a sheet of parchment paper on a cookie sheet.  5) Bake for 15 mins, or until seeds start to pop.  6) Let cool on cookie sheet and serve.

20131112-144155.jpg

20131112-144139.jpg

20131112-144207.jpg

20131112-144215.jpg

20131112-144223.jpg

20131112-144231.jpg

20131112-145321.jpg

3 thoughts on “Twofer Tuesday: Two Squash Recipes in One Post

  1. Pingback: Basic Vegetarian Chili (with Butternut Squash!) | sophisticatedjerseygirl

Leave a Reply

