Butternut Squash Carrot Apple Garlic Soup

As the title implies, this is one of those non-recipe recipes where I threw things in a pot to use them up before they go bad. I’m also hoping if I get all the fresh fruits and veggies out of my apartment, these fruit flies might go away. We’ll see.

After putting olive oil and butter in my pot, I chopped my carrots and threw them in over medium heat. Then I added the garlic, roughly chopped. I knew I would be using an immersion blender so I knew there wasn’t much point in spending time finely mincing anything. I added my apples in pieces, leaving the skin on. I added what was left of the open container of vegetable broth that I had used earlier this week in this squash mac and cheese recipe: https://sophisticatedjerseygirl.wordpress.com/2013/11/12/twofer-tuesday-two-squash-recipes-in-one-post/

It was probably a few cups of broth. To that I added probably another few cups of 1% milk. Enough to cover the squash etc. I didn’t use any measuring cups because I don’t have a dishwasher, and the fewer things I have to wash, the better. Once everything was added, I turned the heat up to high and let it come to a boil. When it did, I turned the heat down to medium and let it simmer until the squash and the carrots and the apples easily slid off a fork if I stabbed them, which was about 20 minutes. There was definite foamage that rose to the top, I have no idea why, but I didn’t skim it off because I didn’t want to make the soup too thin. It looked a bit funky for a while, but tasted fine once everything was all blended together. I used my immersion blender to puree everything until it was nice and smooth, and then served with sour cream on top. Yum! I have a yummy autumn soup with lots of vitamins in it, and I even got to make another batch of roasted squash seeds! Do you have a favorite autumn soup recipe for when the weather gets chilly, or do you just throw everything together, like I did?

20131114-205837.jpg

20131114-205847.jpg

20131114-205854.jpg

20131114-205905.jpg

20131114-205913.jpg

Leave a Reply

