Pancakes, They’re What’s for Breakfast!

Good morning, everyone!

It’s unseasonably warm here, but still very grey outside, making it a good day to stay snuggled in as long as possible. I thought I’d take the time to share the newest recipe in my pancake arsenal with you. Yesterday morning I was flipping through the Food Network, and found Michael Smith making pancakes. Healthy pancakes, he said. I was intrigued. I love pancakes. Saturday morning always makes me think of pancakes. As I watched these being made on TV, I wanted them more the more that I saw. When I watched them get cooked up in bacon grease, I knew I was sold, and mixed these up!

I think the whole wheat flour and the oatmeal definitely helped put off the, “pancake hangover,” or what I call that feeling after you eat plain white flour pancakes. You’re super full, but kind of hungry, and just generally lethargic. I think we can all agree that that’s not a great way to start your day! I must admit I cooked up some bacon and cooked some of the pancakes in said bacon grease. Delicious! The one weird quirky bit about this recipe was that it didn’t call for adding any extra milk once the batter was all mixed. In my pancake-making experience, you always add milk. I wanted to stick with the recipe, however, so I didn’t add any milk, and I think everything ended up ok. The pancakes came out thick and cakey. I did have to smush them down a little bit in the pan to make sure there was no raw batter in the middle. I might add a little milk next time to see what happens. Let me know if you try this recipe, how you cook them and how they turn out!

Michael Smith’s Whole Grain Pancakes: http://chefmichaelsmith.com/recipe/country-inn-pancakes/#.UojjDY2E4n4

There are more detailed instruction on his website (above), but here are the basics:

Ingredients

1 cup all purpose flour
1 cup whole-wheat, grain or almond flour
1 cup oatmeal flakes
2 tablespoons baking powder
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg or cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups any milk or water
1/4 cup vegetable oil or melted butter
2 tablespoons honey
2 eggs, 4 for added richness
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Instructions

Mix the wet ingredients in a large bowl.

Add the dry ingredients all at once.

Cook in a preheated and oiled pan or griddle at medium heat.

Honestly, I added the dry ingredients without sifting them, one at a time right on top of each other into the wet ingredient bowl, and then mixed it all together. I only used two eggs, and cinnamon instead of nutmeg. I skipped the water and used 1% milk. They are super easy to make, and came out really yummy! Enjoy!

20131117-110511.jpg

20131117-110527.jpg

20131117-110546.jpg

3 thoughts on “Pancakes, They’re What’s for Breakfast!

  1. Pingback: Sunday Pancakes. Butter-free and delicious! | sophisticatedjerseygirl

Leave a Reply

