Chocolate Cake in a Mug

Good morning afternoon, Blogkins. (Should that be a word, or should I strike it from my lexicon forever and be embarrassed I ever uttered it?) My brain is fried from schoolwork, so I’m taking a break from my term paper to tell you about the cake in a mug semi-fail I experienced last night. Yesterday was weight day for me at the gym, and I went heavier with the free weights than I have in a while. Which meant that last night, even though I was in a mood to eat my feelings, I didn’t want to completely cancel out my workout. I looked up a few recipes for chocolate cake in a mug that you microwave, and got inspired.

What resulted wasn’t exactly cake… I’m thinking my microwave is kind of powerful and I should have taken it out after a minute and a half instead of pressing the extra 30 seconds to see if it would puff up more. Definite rookie move. I still managed to eat it, it wasn’t that bad, but the texture was vaguely kind of rubbery. Have you ever tried this kind of cake? Has it worked better for you than me?

Also, today I transplanted the carrot tops I’ve been growing in water for a few months into an actual pot. I’m hoping being in dirt will mean I have to babysit them less. I’m throwing in a picture of them just because I think they look pretty. Hope you enjoy!

Microwave Chocolate Cake in a Mug

  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened all natural applesauce
  • splash of vanilla
  • 3 tablespoons milk

Stir the dry ingredients together. Add the wet ingredients. Microwave for 1.5 – 2 minutes on high, until the cake puffs up. I sprinkled a few chocolate chips on top of mine when it came out. You can substitute an egg for the applesauce but you may have to add more sugar for the cake to be sweet enough. Have fun experimenting and adjust the ratios to your taste! This can be as healthy or as decadent as you want… swapping out whole wheat flour for white flour might help the texture as well. It could also be a great way for everyone to have their own cake with whatever ingredients they want; rainbow sprinkles, chopped nuts, and chocolate chips would all be great mix-ins, and whipped cream or ice cream would be delicious on top!

20131119-124509.jpg

20131119-124340.jpg

20131119-124037.jpg

Leave a Reply

