Happy New Year, and the Best Risotto I’ve Ever Made

Happy New Year everyone, a bit late. I took a nice long break from blogging, as you probably know, finishing up last semester and just enjoying being at home over the holidays. Back in Montreal I’ve been figuring out my class schedule and, most importantly, restocking my fridge 🙂

Tonight for dinner, I made salmon and, what I think could easily be the best risotto I’ve ever made. Honestly I wanted to make risotto so I could get rid of some questionable white wine from my fridge without just tossing it, but I didn’t realize how good it would be.

I found this recipe on about.com. http://culinaryarts.about.com/od/ricegrains/r/risotto.htm I’m pleasantly surprised with the outcome. I think the Parmesan cheese made the difference. Try some, and you’ll be glad you did.

The salmon was also super easy. Put a cast iron skillet in a cold oven and heat to 450 degrees. Brush both sides of the salmon with olive oil and place in the hot skillet, skin side down and put back in oven. Cook for 10-15 minutes. Also so good!

Tonight is probably going to be an early night for me – fire alarm woke me up at 6:30 this morning. People really need to learn how to stop burning stuff. I wanted to make sure I got a post on the books for 2014 before I got too out of the habit, though. Stay warm and have a good weekend!!

20140110-215054.jpg

20140110-215104.jpg

20140110-215115.jpg

20140110-215307.jpg

Leave a Reply

