One Pot Mac and Cheese (with Broccoli)

Have I mentioned lately that it’s absolutely freezing here in Montreal? Today we got to experience another day where the “feels like” temperature hovered around -20°F. Obviously I wanted something warm and gooey for dinner, without the hassle of making it, so I pulled out my go-to one pot mac and cheese recipe. I found it here a little over a year ago, and I’ve definitely put it to good use. The only problem I have with it is that cleanup can take a while because the pot gets so cheesy.

Tonight I tried to add broccoli instead of as much pasta, which worked for the most part. If you only add as much broccoli as pasta, and not three times as much like I did at first, you should be fine. Here’s the recipe as I made it tonight:

Ingredients:

  • 8 ounces uncooked pasta (I used whole wheat rigatoni. Original recipe calls for one pound but I halved it to allow for the broccoli).
  • 8 ounces uncooked broccoli florets
  • About 2 cups milk, enough to cover broccoli and pasta
  • 2 cups cheddar cheese finely chopped or grated; 1 cup mild, 1 cup sharp. (Feel free to adjust as you like it.)
  • As many bread crumbs as you desire.
  • Salt and pepper to taste.
  • I didn’t use any butter, and you definitely don’t need it. The fat from the cheese is enough.

Directions:

  1. Rinse uncooked pasta and broccoli under cold water and drain in colander.
  2. Add to pot, along with milk.
  3. Bring to a simmer over medium heat, stirring frequently to keep the noodles from clumping together. Make sure you watch your pot pretty closely so it doesn’t boil over.
  4. Turn down to low heat and simmer for 15 to 20 minutes until milk is absorbed, stirring occasionally.
  5. Meanwhile, toast breadcrumbs in a frying pan. You don’t need any oil for that either, just stir them and don’t let them burn.
  6. Add the cheese and stir.
  7. Top with toasted breadcrumbs and enjoy.

20140123-222910.jpg

20140123-222916.jpg

20140123-222922.jpg

5 thoughts on “One Pot Mac and Cheese (with Broccoli)

Leave a Reply

