An Even More Exceptional Pancake Recipe

Happy Monday! Is that a thing? Should it even be a thing? I’m a little slow moving today. This weekend I played tennis for the first time in ages, and while it was absolutely glorious to pick up a racquet and focus just on the ball and getting it back between the lines, today I feel like I was hit by a freight train. Don’t get me wrong, it’s the best kind of being sore. Nothing hurts, but my body just feels thoroughly well used. All the muscles hurt, not to mention the nice blister I got in the palm of my hand from holding my racquet after forever. I’m also feeling super dehydrated. Not at all hungover, but just very dry, which is making me rethink the celebratory glass of wine I decided to have last night.

Regardless, yesterday morning I stumbled upon what is my new favorite pancake recipe. So good. So perfect. Light, fluffy, and again, no pancake hangover. Also known as heaven. You can find it here. I’ve never made sour cream pancakes before, and I had assumed they would replace some normal ingredient, but everything you would expect to find in a pancake batter was there, just plus sour cream. I was out of sour cream, so I used plain Greek yogurt instead, and it worked beautifully! Also, the recipe calls for 2 cups regular white all-purpose flour, and I wanted to add some whole wheat goodness but not totally trash the recipe the first time I made these, so I kept 1.5 cups all-purpose flour and added 1/2 a cup of whole wheat flour.

They were truly super-yummy! Most pancake recipes that I have worked with in the past have you start with the wet ingredients in a big bowl, and later blend the dry ingredients into the wet, but this one had me make a well in the dry ingredients, in the large bowl, and add in the whisked together wet ingredients to the dry. I can’t say enough about these. I popped them in the freezer last night, and heated up a few in the toaster while I fried up some bacon, which is a whole ‘nother story.

A, I wanted bacon. B, there’s probably a psychological time limit to how long one should keep freezer meat as a reminder that they were once in a functional relationship with a perfectly normal adult male, and C, in the words of a friend, “Lent is nigh.” The end of my classes coincides with Easter this year, so I can’t really save meat until after Easter, and if I don’t eat it now, it’s just not going to get eaten. All signs pointed to bacon for breakfast. And then I burnt it. Which really sucks. I considered making it the fancy way in the oven, but fried it so I could render the fat, which of course I couldn’t do once I burnt it because I don’t want to make anything else taste like burnt bacon. I still ate it, considering some piggy did have to die for me to get my bacon, but I still wasn’t thrilled with the dark crunchy bits considering I like my bacon on the chewy side of things. The pancakes from yesterday, however, were still fabulous!

How was your weekend? Did you do anything fancy or cook anything yummy? Here are some pics of the pancakes to tide you over until you get around to making them, which you really really should. These get a 10 out of 10.

20140210-142039.jpg

20140210-142046.jpg

20140210-142054.jpg

20140210-142844.jpg

20140210-142102.jpg

20140210-142112.jpg

20140210-142119.jpg

 

5 thoughts on “An Even More Exceptional Pancake Recipe

  1. Pingback: Sunday Pancakes. Butter-free and delicious! | sophisticatedjerseygirl

Leave a Reply

