Homemade Bread – No Breadmaker, Cuisinart or KitchenAid Required

Happy President’s Day for those of you in the States, which is also known as Monday for the rest of us!

Back when I started blogging, I did a post on the whole wheat bread I made.  I’m not linking back to it because I think I’ve come a long way in my bread-making since then, and the recipe I used doesn’t seem to exist anymore.  I did find this recipe, which seems quite similar to my old recipe, but not quite the same.  I took a little from the new recipe, a little from what I remembered of the old recipe, and this is what I came up with:

  • 2.5 cups flour (2 cups whole wheat and 1/2 cup all-purpose.  You can adjust this as you like.)
  • 2 generous teaspoons yeast (or a packet)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 generous tbsp honey
  • 2 generous tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk + 1/2 cup water

When I make totally white bread in my KitchenAid, it calls for milk and butter.  I wanted to try and bring some of that lightness to the wholewheat bread, which is why I adjusted the flour to include some white all-purpose flour, and some almond milk.  I would think you could use all milk, all water, or even all almond milk without any problem.  I’m not exactly in touch with the clean eating movement, but I think using regular milk might declassify this loaf as “clean”.  I won’t tell anyone if you use it though… I’m all for using dairy, I’m just trying to use up the almond milk in my fridge at the moment.

Heat up the milk/water in the microwave (I did 90 seconds on HIGH).  You can stick your pinky finger in to test it – if you scald yourself it’s too hot, and if it’s not warm, it needs to be warmer.

Dissolve the yeast and mix with the flour.  Let rise for 30 minutes someplace warm (I use my microwave, turned off.)

Add the rest of the ingredients.

Knead and let rise another 30 minutes (again microwave).

Knead and let rise another 30 minutes (microwave again).

Put in a greased loaf pan (I used butter to grease) and let rise for 30 minutes (microwave).

Bake at 350° for 40 minutes.  Let cool and slice.

No pictures today… as soon as the loaf came out of the oven I cut a big chunk out of it, and then realized I forgot to snap some evidence.  It’s definitely a whole-wheat bread, but it’s yummy.  The best part about it is you don’t need any special machine or gadget to make it, just your hands and a bowl and the oven.

Do you have a favorite bread recipe?  If you try this one, let me know how it turns out for you!

6 thoughts on “Homemade Bread – No Breadmaker, Cuisinart or KitchenAid Required

Leave a Reply

