Easy Yellow Cupcakes with Chocolate Frosting

There seem to be a lot of February birthdays around here, which has thankfully been cause for a lot of celebrating. On Friday, I got to make cupcakes for the first time in ever. I went a little Martha Stewart, and actually used her recipe. I wanted chocolate frosting for the top, however, and Martha did not deliver this time, so a quick Google search brought me to this recipe for frosting, icing, whatever you will call it. What is the difference between frosting and icing? Does anyone know?

The cupcakes were pretty easy to make. I doubled the recipe, and made a few tiny changes in the hopes of being a tiny bit healthier. Here’s how I rolled with the cupcakes, which you can compare to how Martha made them if you want. And keep in mind that my ingredient list was for a double batch, so just keep the ratio the same but feel free to halve it if you only want to make 12 cupcakes:

  • 2.5 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour (that makes these healthy, right?)
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup 2% milk
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk (to make them a little lighter)
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup honey (to take out some of the refined sugar)
  • 4 large eggs

I was a bit apprehensive with the changes I made to the recipe, but I made sure to taste-test so I knew they were okay to eat.  Also, I learned a trick from the recipe – using an ice cream scoop to measure out the cupcakes.  I thought it was just Martha being Martha when I read it, but when I tried the scoop tip, it was super helpful.  I’ll definitely do that again next time!

For the frosting, I stuck to the original recipe. I forgot to take pictures because at this point, I just wanted to get it done. The frosting was straightforward and easy, but there was a good stretch of time where I thought I had completely failed. Before you add the milk, it’s super dry and they doesn’t resemble frosting at all, but it ends up working out in the end. And the second whip is totally important. The frosting is edible and yummy before hand, but whipping it up extra light and fluffy means you can use less on each cupcake, it’s more easily spreadable, and there’s more frosting to go around.

I’m pleased to say nothing exploded or died in the oven, and these cupcakes were a success. Remove them to a rack to cool completely before frosting, and you are good to go. If you are traveling with your cupcakes, you can always do what I did – put the frosting and the cupcakes in separate containers and frost when you get there.

20140223-112620.jpg

20140223-112635.jpg

20140223-112646.jpg

20140223-112700.jpg

20140223-112734.jpg

20140223-112759.jpg

20140223-112814.jpg

20140223-112825.jpg

20140223-112832.jpg

20140223-112843.jpg

5 thoughts on “Easy Yellow Cupcakes with Chocolate Frosting

  1. Yellow cupcakes with chocolate frosting are my favorite comfort food — they remind me of everything good from being a kid and are just plain delicious! Just look at your pictures of them makes me instantly happy and relaxed.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Super Cheesy Macaroni and Cheese | sophisticatedjerseygirl

Leave a Reply

