Homemade Crumbled Sausage

Good morning everyone!! It’s still morning, right? It was one of those days where I rolled back to bed for another five minutes and woke up an hour later. It’s snowing out, and I’m planning on making mac and cheese from scratch to snuggle up with. In the meantime, however, I can write a post about the sausage that I made this weekend. I’ve never done it before, and I didn’t use casing, so it might be seasoned ground pork, but it was sooooo good.

And super easy.

I chopped up some garlic and put it in a skillet with a little bit of olive oil and about a teaspoon and a half of fennel. Added about a pound of sausage and a good sprinkling of sea salt, and browned it on both sides over medium heat. Then I added a package of frozen spinach (about 10 ounces), broken up a bit, and topped it all off with a can of fire-roasted tomatoes, and let it cook down over medium-low while the pasta boiled. I chose farfalle, because it’s my favorite. I’ll definitely make this again, and the best part is the leftovers. I didn’t realize just how much a pound of meat would be, so I’ve been able to have leftovers with my eggs in the morning, which has been just as delicious as with pasta.

When I’ve had the sausage for breakfast, I’ve added leftover strips of bacon that I had in my fridge, which has made the meal extra delicious!!

Do you have a favorite sausage recipe, or even a way to cook up pork?

20140225-114713.jpg

20140225-114726.jpg

20140225-114737.jpg

20140225-114748.jpg

20140225-114759.jpg

20140225-114814.jpg

20140225-114821.jpg

5 thoughts on “Homemade Crumbled Sausage

Leave a Reply

