Salmon, Roasted Veggies, and Lentils

Hi everyone!!

Today was definitely the kind of day where I wished I was a good napper.  I’m really jealous of people who can just shut down for a few minutes and wake up totally refreshed.  I, on the other hand, if I try to nap, lay around with my eyes half closed, hoping to fall asleep, which usually takes at least 45 minutes, and then wake up three hours later totally disoriented and confused as to where half the day went.

This morning I was up super early and couldn’t go back to sleep, but I still hadn’t gotten enough sleep to function like a human.  I finally made it outside midafternoon, when the temperature had gotten up to around 12 degrees.  After a few days of touristing, eating delicious Montreal treats, and not doing any schoolwork, it felt good to pop into Starbucks and read for school.  I was planning on making it to the library, but after I got my tea with steamed milk, I found the perfect sunny nook and comfy chair at Starbucks, and did not want to move at all.  I was one of those people who take their boots off and snuggle in their socks in public.  Which I never do, because it’s gross and feet should basically never ever be out in public.  But the chair was that comfy and the nook was that perfect, and I actually got a lot done.

I narrowed down dinner to sushi or salmon and lentils, and ended up going for the lentils.  Last week’s lentils, which you can read about here if you missed them, were so good I decided to repeat them.  I roasted a bunch of veggies; eggplant, potato, sweet potato, and tomato, plus some garlic.  I followed the same lentil recipe, but added the whole can of tomato paste this time, just so it wouldn’t go to waste.

The salmon I cooked for about 20 minutes in a 400 degree oven, skin side up, in a glazed stoneware vessel (my mind is blanking on the right word right now, so I’m going with vessel), for about 20 minutes.  I’m so glad I didn’t go with the sushi, because the salmon was that good.  Everything was that good.  Such a yummy meal was the perfect way to round out my weekend!!  How was yours?

20140323-220603.jpg

20140323-220610.jpg

20140323-220616.jpg

One thought on “Salmon, Roasted Veggies, and Lentils

  1. Pingback: Lentils Reinvented | sophisticatedjerseygirl

Leave a Reply

