Avocado Pesto Linguini with Shrimp and Mushrooms

So last night’s dinner.  So good.  Like really.  I was super full from all of the snacking on mushrooms I did while I was cooking {wow, just realized how that sounded.  Actual mushrooms.  Not ‘shrooms.  Plus, don’t ‘shrooms make people hungry instead of full?  I’m not sure.  Either way, I was snacking on the mushrooms I was cooking, and got full.}, but still found a way to forge ahead and finish my bowl.

My original dinner plan was to make avocado pesto, in keeping with trying to have more vegan meals.  I found this recipe, which looked pretty cool and simple enough.  And then I went to spin class, which I totally rocked out like #cockinasock, and suddenly avocado pesto pasta just didn’t sound like enough.  I stopped at the store on my way home, and picked up some mushrooms on sale {also, more blackberries.  I’m trying, you guys.  Trying to change my berry-hating ways.  It’s an uphill battle.}  Then I wondered around like, what goes with pasta and pesto?  Meat’s out, so, fish?  The salmon was gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous but way too huge.  The smallest piece was almost a pound, and I just wanted to eat some fish, not turn into one.  I grabbed some shrimp instead, already deveined, which was even better.  Around the time I went looking for the pine nuts, I gave up and realized I had some regular pesto in my freezer and decided to make-do with that.

Back home post-shower, I cleaned my mushrooms and cut them into chunks before sauteeing them.  I took my pesto out of the freezer, and mashed up my avocado.  I added the pesto to the avocado, along with a tiny bit more olive oil (a tablespoon or so).  I added the shrimp to the mushrooms, shells on except for the first two that I shelled before I realized they should be cooked with the shells on, and I cooked my pasta.

It was quite good.  The original recipe would have been vegetarian and vegan, with the addition of the pesto and the shrimp, not so much.  I didn’t add any extra cheese though, besides what was already in the pesto, and I’m proud of myself for that.  With the creaminess of the avocado, it really didn’t need anything else.

Avocado Pesto w/ shrimp and mushrooms

  • 1 lb linguini
  • 1 avocado
  • half a container store bought pesto (about 2 ounces)
  • olive oil
  • shrimp
  • 2 ten ounce packages of mushrooms

Clean, slice if desired, and saute mushrooms.  Rinse off and saute shrimp.  Cook pasta.  Mash avocado with fork.  Blend with pesto.  Add oil as needed.  Toss with pasta.  Garnish with mushrooms and shrimp.  Enjoy 🙂

20140329-153639.jpg

20140329-153647.jpg

 

20140329-153700.jpg

{My pot is clearly too small for a pound of pasta, but I didn’t want to get the big stockpot down from the high shelf.}

20140329-153707.jpg

20140329-153713.jpg

20140329-153721.jpg

20140329-153728.jpg

{Throw a linguino (that’s what I’m calling the singular of linguini) on the wall/cabinet to see if it’s done.  If it sticks you’re good to go!}

20140329-153747.jpg

20140329-153948.jpg

5 thoughts on “Avocado Pesto Linguini with Shrimp and Mushrooms

  1. Pingback: Super Yummy Nachos with Avocado and Refried Beans | sophisticatedjerseygirl

Leave a Reply

