Super Yummy Nachos with Avocado and Refried Beans

Hey you guys!  It’s lunchtime, at least here on the East Coast, and since I’m taking a break from writing about Latin America in the 1800’s anyway, I might as well share my nachos with y’all.

Some of you may know about my troubles with refried beans.  Usually I get impatient and don’t soak or cook them nearly long enough, and they end up coming out rather al dente, and not mashing properly.  This weekend I actually cooked them right.  Friday night, after dinner, I put a cup of dry beans in a pot with a bunch of water (roughly 3) cups, and went to bed.

Saturday morning, I drained and rinsed the beans, recovered them in cold water, and brought to a boil before reducing to a simmer, partially covered.  For a good two hours.  And then I shut the heat off, but let them sit on the burner, still kinda covered, all afternoon while I was out and about.  Saturday night, I went through the refrito process, ie. chop some garlic, saute in oil (I used olive oil), add the beans and their water, mash with a masher, and cook down.  Except they didn’t.  The freakin’ beans still didn’t mash.  I brought out my immersion blender to get the job done, and let them thicken up a little bit more.

And they were delicious.  I’m still baffled by my beans.  They really shouldn’t be so hard to get right.  I’m not even posting a recipe to go along with them, because there’s a bunch online, and you’ll probably make them better than I can, with the bad bean luck I’ve been having.  I do have pictures though, which I’m happy to share.  Once you have your refried beans, preheat your oven to 400ºF.  Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.  Or not, if you love scrubbing cookie sheets clean.  Put your tortilla chips on the cookie sheet.  I like to keep mine somewhat close together so some chips are full of topping and crunchy, and others are more gooey, but it’s up to you.  The more spread out your chips are, the crunchier they will be.  Slice up some cheddar cheese (or your cheese of choice, I just think nachos need cheddar), or if you’re using shredded cheese, you can skip this step.  Spoon some refried beans over the chips, and top with cheese.  Toast in the oven.  They shouldn’t take that long, maybe 10 minutes.  Longer if you want them more done, but watch them carefully so you don’t end up with charred chips.  When they come out, top with mashed avocado, and enjoy 🙂

I’m thinking these might be dinner again tonight.  What are y’all having for dinner?

20140331-134927.jpg

20140331-134938.jpg

Leave a Reply

