Crumb Cake

I’m not shy about my love for crumb cake from a very special bakery down the shore.  It can border on the extreme.  But food is memories, right?  And going down the shore has always been much more than getting tan – it’s spending time with family and getting to be together.  If crumb cake just happens to be a part of that, so be it.  Yesterday morning I tried recreating some crumb cake.  I turned to trusty Martha for help.  Let’s just say it could have been better.  Maybe my standards were too high, and I definitely still had two slices, but it’s just not the same.  Living up in the Canadian tundra, I’ve become as white as a polar bear.  I’m dying for some sun, summer, and summer food.

I wasn’t thrilled with the recipe, but I also wasn’t quite awake when I read it apparently – instead of using the 9x12in pan I was supposed to, I used 8×8.  Which explains why it took forever to bake.  And forever is a long time when you’re hungry.  It was yummy, and it photographs really well, even though it’s not the same as my favorite.  I added powdered sugar after I took the pictures, and it definitely made a difference.  So don’t forget your powdered sugar.

I’m not going to detail all of the ingredients and recipe step by step, because I’m crunched for time with school deadlines, but I did upload pictures.  You can find the whole recipe here.  I did swap out half a cup of all purpose flour (out of 1 and 1/2 cups) from the dough in favor of a half cup whole wheat.  I didn’t want it to be whole wheaty, but it seemed decadent enough that it could take a bit of whole wheat.  I followed the rest of the recipe pretty true to form, although some of my milk was unsweetened almond milk, just because I wanted to use it up.  I used all the butter that Martha said to, but it seems like an awful lot.  In the finished product, the crumbs aren’t light and crumbly, but really buttery.  It’s a dense dense cake, so I’m thinking maybe a little less butter could help that.  Perhaps a stick and a half instead of 2 sticks?  Or something with a sour cream base instead?  Not sure.  I’ve definitely managed to get some down though.

I also wanted to add a little bit of what I’ve done to stay fit for the day, mostly because I always share what I bake or cook and eat with you guys, but I don’t usually share what, if any, exercise I’ve done, so you all must think I’m the size of a blimp, but also because it’s finals time, and I feel like a blimp.

Saturday night I played tennis for an hour and a half, and it felt really good.  Yesterday I’ve been doing a lot of school work, but I did fit in a weights exercise with, wait for it, cans of chicken noodle soup.  I don’t have any actual free weights in my apartment, but I didn’t let that stop me.  I played a song at random on iTunes and completed the whole weights circuit from my spin class with my soup cans.  And by the end of the song my arms were burning!  Would real weights have been more effective? Probably.  Is something better than nothing?  Absolutely and always.  Just a little reminder to myself that there really are no excuses to not work out.  Today the weather is actually resembling spring, so I’m hoping to go for a run.  Bikini season is creeping up on us!

20140407-122427.jpg

20140407-122434.jpg

20140407-122441.jpg

20140407-122449.jpg

20140407-122458.jpg

20140407-122505.jpg

 

7 thoughts on “Crumb Cake

  1. Pingback: Whole Wheat Double Crumb Coffee Cake Muffins | sophisticatedjerseygirl

Leave a Reply

