Roasted Rack of Lamb with Sauteed Veggies and Spinach

Hey you guys!  It’s been a while.  I don’t have excuses, but I know I took a good long break from blogging.  If it’s anything, the weather seems to have changed from winter to summer overnight, skipping spring completely, and everything slows down during the summer.  Since I haven’t posted in a while, I should probably come back with a bang.  Something outrageously yummy, right?  I got ya.  The meal, my friends, would be roasted rosemary and garlic rack of lamb with sauteed veggies and spinach.  Go big or go home, right?

Before I skip to the meal, how are you guys?  I’ve missed cooking, and blogging, really I have, but there’s been a lot of eating out lately and not so many new recipes to blog about.  Which means I haven’t been checking blogs nearly as often as usual, and I’ve missed you too.  What have you been up to?  I want to hear all about it.

Back to the lamb, I started with this recipe, straight from GMA, which I thought at the time was the recipe George Stephanopoulos made, but, as I look over it, might not be at all.  To add to the confusion, when I started cooking I knew I was making rack of lamb, but didn’t realize George (or Not George), was cooking it as individual chops.  And I’m a fan of the rack.  So when it came time to roast the lamb, I used this recipe for cooking guidelines.  Which didn’t actually work out as well as I would have liked, but at least it was on the raw side of rare and not at all overcooked.  You can always put it back in, but you can’t un-cook something.  And it’s most likely me, and not the recipe, since I didn’t check the exact weight of my meat and/or use a meat thermometer.

So here’s how it went.  Rosemary Garlic Lamb with Sauteed Veggies and Spinach:

  • 2 racks of lamb, about 1.5 pounds each.  You can probably figure way less.  I was cooking for people that love lamb, but a single rack of this size would easily feed 2 people, or even 3 people who don’t eat that much.
  • 1 head garlic (the original recipe calls for only 3 cloves, but you can never have too much garlic.
  • Several sprigs of rosemary.  Strip the leaves off the stem.
  • Olive oil, about 4 tablespoons.
  • 2.5 teaspoons salt.

Peel and smash your garlic.  Mix in a small bowl with your salt and rosemary.

Pour 2 tbsp olive oil in a cookie sheet/baking pan, so the lamb won’t stick.

Place lamb fat side up in pan.  Using your hands, rub with 2 tbsp olive oil.

Add salt mixture and rub onto meat.

Cover with plastic wrap and leave refrigerated overnight.

Remove meat 2 hours before cooking.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Wrap bones in aluminum foil so they don’t burn.

Remove plastic wrap before putting the lamb in the oven.

Roast for 7 minutes at 400 degrees.

Lower to 300 degrees and cook for 7-15 minutes longer, until inside temp is 125.

Remove from oven and let rest, tented in foil, for 10 minutes longer.

*{My lamb needed a half hour at 300 degrees to be done, and I love my meat as rare as possible.  I’m not one of those people who cook their meat until it’s brown and charred and you can’t tell what kind of meat it is, it just took forever to cook.  So, make good use of your thermometer.}

I didn’t take pictures of the veggies while I was cooking them because I was focused on the lamb.  But basically, about half a stick of butter and some olive oil go in a pan over medium heat.  Add your chopped onion, as much as you want.  I used a 1/4 cup.  Cook until translucent, stirring occasionally.  Add your garlic and stir.  You don’t want your garlic to burn.  Add your sweet potatoes (I used 4 small ones, cubed about 1 to 2 inches), because they take the longest to cook.  Cook for about 5 minutes on medium.  Add your mushrooms, cleaned and sliced.  I used 1 ten ounce package.  Cook it all down, stirring occasionally.  I ended up adding more oil and butter, but you could probably also add a cup or so of broth or water if you wanted, letting the liquid cook out.  Lastly, I added a whole container of fresh spinach.  Cook, stirring, until wilted.  Reduce your heat to lowest setting to keep the veggies warm until serving.  *{You should know I used a quite large pan, so I was able to keep the potatoes and mushrooms together on one side of the pan, and the spinach on the other.  The idea of spinach mixed with potatoes and mushrooms all together didn’t sound yummy to me, but do what sounds good to you.  You can cook it all together, or use two separate pans if you need to.}

Plate your food and enjoy!

20140513-152025.jpg

into the fridge the night before

20140513-152033.jpg

ready to roast

20140513-152049.jpg

the finished rack

20140513-152105.jpg

the whole meal

20140513-152114.jpg

lamb close-up

4 thoughts on “Roasted Rack of Lamb with Sauteed Veggies and Spinach

  1. Looks great! I so need to try to cook lamb again. My experience was not pleasant and now I am intimidated by it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

