Oreo Cupcakes

You guys, I’ve been craving Oreo cupcakes for a while, but I wasn’t loving any of the recipes I found, so I made my own.  I didn’t want to eat anything super heavy, but I wanted the Oreo flavor.  I started with Martha’s vanilla cupcake recipe, and went from there.  It’s supposed to make 24 regular cupcakes, but made even more.  I made 14 regular sized cupcakes, plus 48 mini ones.  The mini ones didn’t have any Oreos in them because I didn’t have any on hand, but they’d be super-cute with mini Oreos if you have them.  I tried to sub out ingredients to make them a little healthier, but keep in mind you could use full fat butter, white all-purpose flour, and all 4 eggs, and they would be even more decadent and delicious!

My Oreo Cupcakes:

3 cups flour (2 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour, 1/2 cup white all-purpose flour)

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 cups butter {I used the Land O’Lakes light butter.}

1 1/2 cups sugar

2 eggs

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 1/4 cups milk

Chocolate sandwich cookies {I used Trader Joe’s Joe Joe’s – say that five times fast – because there’s no hydrogenated fat or high fructose}

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Fill muffin tins with paper muffin cups.  Place an Oreo in the bottom of each muffin cup.

Beat your butter and sugar together.  Add your applesauce and eggs, beating well to make sure it’s well incorporated.  Add the vanilla.

In a separate bowl, combine the flours, baking powder, and salt.  Add half of the flour mixture to the butter mixture and stir.  Add the milk to the butter mixture, followed by the rest of the flour mixture and combine.

Fill the muffin cups.  For regular sized cupcakes, I used an ice cream scoop, and for the smaller ones I used two tablespoons.  Bake until a skewer/tooth comes out clean.  The large ones took about 20 minutes, the smaller ones were 12 to 15.  Take them out and let cool 10 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack to cool completely (leave the cupcake paper on).

In the meantime, make your frosting.  You might remember the cupcake recipe I used for the slew of February birthdays, when I found my favorite chocolate frosting recipe.  It’s still my favorite, and you can find it here.  My version is basically the same, except I don’t sift anything.  Cream 1 cup butter (I used 1 stick regular butter and 1 stick light butter) with 1/2 cup cocoa powder.  Stir in a teaspoon of vanilla and 5 cups powdered sugar.  With the mixture on low, slowly pour in milk until you reach desired consistency.  Whip frosting on high until light and frothy.  It will be a distinctly lighter chocolate color than before you whipped it, and there will be more of it.

When your cupcakes are cooled, ice with the frosting and enjoy.  If you wanted to be super cutesy, you could use Oreos to decorate the top, but I didn’t think that far ahead at the time.  Either way, they’re pretty yummy.  Let me know what you think if you make them 🙂

*PIGGYBACK MINI-RECIPE DELICIOUSNESS:

Somehow I had a lot more frosting left than cupcakes, and found those little phyllo dough cups that you buy empty and fill them yourself.  This isn’t complicated enough to be it’s own recipe, but man oh man, some frosting in a phyllo cup is delicious.  If your frosting has been in the fridge and has gotten thick, you may need to add some milk to it when reheating to thin it out again.  Once it’s heated and the consistency you want, just spoon some into a phyllo cup and enjoy.

I don’t know how long the phyllo cups or the cupcakes will last… in my house they never last long enough to go bad 🙂

20140523-231513.jpg20140523-231527.jpg

20140523-231614.jpg

20140523-231623.jpg

20140523-231639.jpg

20140523-231655.jpg

20140523-231705.jpg

20140523-231718.jpg

20140523-231740.jpg

20140523-231756.jpg

20140523-231820.jpg

20140523-231833.jpg

20140523-231842.jpg

20140523-231914.jpg

20140523-231923.jpg

20140523-231931.jpg

Happy Memorial Day weekend, you guys!  I hope you’re with people that make you happy, and for those traveling, that you all got to where you were going safely.  People on the road seem to have forgotten how to drive even more than usual this weekend.

4 thoughts on “Oreo Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

