Christmas in July

Christmas definitely came in July for me this year!  A few weeks ago I found out about this ice cream container that keeps your homemade ice cream from getting freezer-burned.  It sounds silly, but I really haven’t used my ice cream maker in a long time because I haven’t had a good storage container.  Regular plastic storage containers just don’t do it.

Last night, after picking up my Tovolo container, I made a batch of ice cream!  I adapted it from a vegan ice cream cookbook I got a few years ago, and it was only half-vegan, so I can’t say it’s the best ice cream I’ve had or made, but I was so excited to make ice cream that I made do with the ingredients I had on hand.  You could easily convert this back to vegan by using something other than honey for sweetener, and soymilk instead of cow’s milk.  Likewise, you could swap out the coconut milk for cream and the honey for granulated sugar and have a more traditional ice cream recipe.

Ingredients:

1 can full-fat coconut milk

1/2 cup honey

1 Tbsp vanilla

1.25 cups 1% milk

A good handful of chocolate chips

Directions:

Whisk all ingredients except the chocolate chips together in a bowl, and chill for at least 2 hours before making ice cream according to your ice cream maker’s instructions.  Mine took about 20 minutes to make ice cream the consistency of soft serve.  Throw in the chocolate chips when the ice cream is just about done.  When the chocolate chips are evenly dispersed, the ice cream is done 🙂  To firm it up, transfer from the ice cream maker to the storage container and pop into the freezer.  If you blend it any longer than that, the ice cream canister starts to heat up, and it’s counter productive.

It’s a good idea to keep your ice cream maker in the freezer all the time, because even though it only takes 20 minutes to make the actual ice cream, the canister usually takes 24 hours to chill enough to be able to make the ice cream.  Also, your storage container should be well-chilled before you transfer your ice cream into it, so you should also keep that ready in the freezer.  I didn’t, and my ice cream melted a little when I put it in the freezer to chill.

I wasn’t in love with this ice cream, but it did kinda sorta work to fill my ice cream craving, and it was super easy.  Next time I would probably use granulated sugar instead of honey, because it came out with a strong honey taste.  It wasn’t bad, just not what I was expecting.  This definitely isn’t the best ice cream on its own, but chocolate chip cookies on the side, ice cream sandwich style, will hopefully jazz it up.  I have a batch of cookie dough in my fridge… I’ll have to report back on how the ice cream cookies go!

*Tovolo and/or Williams-Sonoma are not compensating me in any way, I was just really excited about my new ice cream storage container, and wanted to share my excitement with you guys 🙂

20140725-213532.jpg

20140725-213540.jpg

20140725-213556.jpg

20140725-213613.jpg

20140725-213624.jpg

20140725-213634.jpg

Leave a Reply

