SophisticatedJerseyGirl Has Moved!

You guys, SophisticatedJerseyGirl has moved!!  The actual website, sophisticatedjerseygirl.wordpress.com is the same and has not changed, but me, SJG, the person who brings you all the content I know you so look forward to, has moved to Spain.  Palma de Mallorca, to be exact.  It has been in the works for a while, but I can be kind of superstitious, so I didn’t want to say anything, and also, I would have looked really silly if I told you I was moving and then I wimped out and stayed in Jersey.

I’m going to be here for the near future, until the Spring at least, teaching English at a secondary school, and I’m looking forward to taking you along for the ride.  Because it’s gorgeous.

Right now I’m staying in an apartment that I found on Airbnb, which is temporary until I find something more permanent or decide to make the current situation permanent.  I love the location, and it’s in Plaça de Sant Antoni, which is a bonus because Saint Anthony has always been one of my favorite saints.  But really.  My best friend growing up’s Mom taught us about him when we were looking for a parking space.  And he works.  I’ve never not found anything with Saint Anthony on my side.

Yesterday was pretty rough because I really didn’t sleep on either flight getting here.  I got maybe an hour total, plus the hour and a half nap I took when I got settled yesterday.  I didn’t want to sleep longer and let jet lag win, but it meant that when I went to bed last night at 9pm Mallorca time, I’d basically been awake for over 30 hours straight.  Plus I’d pretty much been walking around all of old town Mallorca all yesterdau afternoon because I knew if I sat down anywhere I’d fall asleep on the spot.  I was pretty much a cranky zombie, but 14 hours of sleep last night seems to have solved that.

I woke up around 11 and found a gorgeous panadería that I not surprisingly missed yesterday.  After a cafe con leche and a napolitana con chocolate {basically a chocolate croissant} I was ready to take on Vodafone and get a Spanish number so I could finally take my phone off airplane mode.  An hour and a half later, my mission was accomplished.  I got a prepaid sim card so I’m not tied down to a contract, but basically negotiating cell phone service is not any more pleasant in Spain than it is at home.  Nor is it more fun in the pidgin Spanish I think it sounds like I’m speaking.  But I got it done.  That’s the big win.  Even though I didn’t have my passport on me.  They accepted my NJ driver’s license as ID.  Which I think is proof that if you can drive in Jersey, you’re golden 🙂

I stopped at Mercat de l’Olivar before they closed, and the highlight of my day was when the guy asked if I needed a bag, for the single banana that I bought.  I didn’t take pictures but I will be back.  There was the most fish I’ve ever seen in one place, and lots of delicious meat.  Jamón and otherwise.

Today I didn’t want to overdo, plus my orientation for work is tomorrow, so I’m taking a break on exploring today, but yesterday I made it down to Plaza Major, las Ramblas, the Catedral and the ocean.  Here are the pictures to prove that I did more than read books on my Kindle and try to stay awake.

IMG_9598

my last big American breakfast {for awhile} at my favorite diner in NJ

IMG_9621

Plaza de España

IMG_9631

las Ramblas

IMG_9633

view of Las Ramblas from Plaza Major

IMG_9635

pretty street

IMG_9637

view of something important or pretty. I forget what my Jet-lagged mind was thinking though.

IMG_9661

A gorgeous fountain, and just beyond that, the ocean. The Mediterranean Sea 🙂

*This is the first time in a while I’ve uploaded pictures with my computer instead of my phone, so my apologies if the sizing is off on the pictures, or if they’re just a bit wonky in general 🙂

6 thoughts on “SophisticatedJerseyGirl Has Moved!

Leave a Reply

