Virgins, Sandwiches, and Stovetop Roasted Veggies with Eggs and Pancetta

Hi you guys!  We made it halfway through the workweek again!  I hope yours is going well!  The weather in Palma is still unseasonably warm, which I’m enjoying.  Last night I got to go for a much needed run along the water, in a futile attempt to burn off some of the 9 donuts I ate on Monday.  Monday was the Feast of the Virgins, which still makes me think of the Golden Girls episode where Sophia enlists Rose to make the traditional sauce and she adds Frosted Flakes.  From what I’ve gathered, the boys are supposed to serenade the girls, and the girls invite the boys to eat donuts.  My school was selling tickets for the traditional bunyols last week – 5 for one euro – to eat on Monday.  I got two tickets last week, but luckily there wasn’t enough time for them to make everyone’s donuts when they planned to, so I only got 5.  10 donuts would have been a lot.  But then that afternoon I passed a hole in the wall where two old women were making the donuts fresh, and I couldn’t resist.  I asked for 2, because 7 donuts in one day is clearly a normal amount, and they gave me 4.  The ones I had at school were kind of underwhelming compared to all the hype they’d been given, but the ones I had from the old ladies were delicious!  I definitely prefer the ones in Palma that are more like chocolate-filled cream-puffs, but a mediocre fried donut is still pretty good!

Last night I tried to make something a bit lighter and still a bit more sweater-weathery.  I was in the mood for butternut squash, and originally thought I’d make eggs-in-a-basket, but ended up skipping the bread when I realized how many veggies I had.  I had some leftover potatoes from my Spanish omelette disaster, and also picked up some red pepper, garlic, and frozen chopped spinach along with the butternut squash.  It was a lot of food, but it felt so good to eat something with actual nutrition!  This recipe is probably perfect for 2 people, although it worked just fine for me, and I had lots of leftovers to play with.  I already made an epic sandwich to take to lunch tomorrow… pancetta, avocado, brie, and red pepper on a baguette!

Stovetop Roasted Veggies with Eggs and Pancetta:

  • 2 large eggs
  • 250 grams (1/2 lb) pancetta
  • 3 small potatoes
  • 1 large red bell pepper
  • 1/2 head of garlic (I was in the mood for garlic.  Feel free to use less.)
  • 1 package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained.
  • 250 grams (1/2 lb) butternut squash
  • 1/2 cup milk for the eggs
  • Olive oil or butter, as needed

Directions:

  • Fry the pancetta in a frying pan over medium heat, until nicely brown and cooked.
  • Remove from heat to a plate lined with paper towels.
  • Reserve the leftover grease to cook your veggies in.
  • While pancetta is cooking, cut your squash, potatoes, garlic, and red pepper.
  • Toss into pan after taking out the pancetta.
  • Brown the vegetables.
  • Add the spinach.  It may add a bit of liquid, which is why you add it last.  I forgot to defrost mine and it took ages to cook off all the liquid.
  • When everything is cooked, remove from the heat.
  • Scramble eggs and milk in a medium bowl.
  • Add more grease to the pan if you need to keep the eggs from sticking.
  • Cook the scrambled eggs, stirring as needed to keep them from being an omelette.  Be careful not to overcook.
  • Take the eggs off of the heat when they’re done, add to vegetables and pancetta, and enjoy!
20141022-225350-82430524.jpg

making bunyols at school

20141022-225921-82761980.jpg

fresh bunyols

20141022-225923-82763317.jpg

close-up

20141022-225438-82478214.jpg

My lovely pancetta. It’s so much thicker than bacon!

20141022-225439-82479118.jpg

cooking up

20141022-225440-82480155.jpg

this is why you defrost your spinach first

20141022-225442-82482600.jpg

all together, waiting for the spinach water to evaporate

20141022-225455-82495965.jpg

gorgeous Spanish eggs

20141022-225457-82497207.jpg

finally dinnertime

20141022-225458-82498849.jpg

sandwich envy

20141022-225925-82765030.jpg

view from my run yesterday. Enjoy 🙂

5 thoughts on “Virgins, Sandwiches, and Stovetop Roasted Veggies with Eggs and Pancetta

  1. Wow, those donuts look so good. How do you keep from eating so many?
    I love the Golden Girls and yes, Feast of the Virgins does sound like that very episode you described (I’ve seen them all. Probably more than once!).
    You put those veggies to good use and that sammitch looks yummy too! I am envious, indeed! Perhaps you could wash it down with another donut? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I may have had five more donuts today… oops! But it was the last day of the donut sales at my schools, and now I can finally be done with them. At least I was able to eat some veggies in between donut courses, right?
      It’s almost embarrassing how much I like the Golden Girls, but then again, there pretty much isn’t anything that can happen in a day that they can’t make better 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Veggies between donuts ensured that you got the vitamins to digest all those donuts…lol!
        So true! My grandmama and I watched every episode on Saturday nights at her house. I can remember having those big belly roll laughs. Those memories are priceless!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

