Super Easy Farfalle and Cheese

Hey you guys!  I made it to Friday!  Since I don’t work Fridays, Thursday night is my Friday, and I can relax.  I’ve been able to find a lot of things in Spain that I didn’t think I would {Pepperidge Farm, anyone?}, but I haven’t found macaroni and cheese in any form.  Except for the weirder than normal stuff in a box that they were selling at the American store.  It was not any recognizable brand.  And sometimes I just want a box of Annie’s, or even Kraft.  Or even to make it from scratch.  I’ve done that a bunch, and it takes a while but it’s easy and delicious. Except I haven’t seen block cheddar cheese here.  Only fancy hard cheeses.  Or fancy soft cheeses.  But what I did have in my fridge was a kilogram of Greek Yogurt and some Parmesan cheese.

I know how it sounds, but don’t change your channel!  You’ve got to believe me here.  The yogurt was all melty, and the cheese was cheesy, and I even toasted some breadcrumbs and garlic.  It’s not the mac and cheese that you would normally make, but it was mac and cheese, or in my case, farfalle, and it was good.  Was past tense, because it’s all gone now 🙂  It’s not difficult enough to be a proper recipe, and my lack of pictures proves it, but it was so good I wanted to share it anyway.

Ingredients {for one}:

  • 1/3 box farfalle {or other pasta.  My farfalle was already open.}
  • 1 Tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 head of garlic {feel free to adjust this}
  • 3 Tbsp breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 cup full fat Greek yogurt {It’s delicious and I don’t know how people eat fat-free yogurt}
  • 3 Tbsp grated Parmesan cheese

Directions:

  • Heat a pot of salted water over medium-high to high heat.
  • Take your yogurt out of the fridge so it’s not super cold and brings down your pasta temperature when you mix it together.
  • In the mean time, heat a frying pan with oil and butter.
  • Chop your garlic.
  • Sautee the garlic and breadcrumbs over medium heat, watching them carefully and stirring frequently, otherwise they will burn and you will have to repeat this step.  Like I did.  Whoops!
  • Cook your pasta according to the directions and drain when done.
  • Don’t rinse your pasta, because you want it starchy.
  • Plate your pasta in the bowl you want to eat it from, and mix with yogurt and Parmesan.
  • Top with the breadcrumbs, and enjoy 🙂

This recipe definitely is a little out there, but I think it shows what a little ingenuity can do.  I will definitely make this again in the near future.  It’s not proper mac and cheese, but it’s close enough.  And the cleanup is so much easier!  No oven or baking dishes to clean, and nothing is sticky with baked-on cheese.

20141023-230548-83148505.jpg

toasted breadcrumbs and garlic Round 2

20141023-230549-83149385.jpg

close-up of the melty-cheesy goodness

20141023-230550-83150405.jpg

artistic side-shot

3 thoughts on “Super Easy Farfalle and Cheese

Leave a Reply

