Spanish Apple Pie and my new Italian Percolator

Like a lot of things I make over here, this pie is just Spanish because of where it was made and the slight adjustments I made to it because of where I am.  I wasn’t entirely sure how it would turn out, but I was very, very pleased!  And as an added bonus, apparently I don’t have to light the pilot light on the oven, just the burners on the stove.  I also went over to my trust friend Corte Inglés before and picked up an Italian stovetop coffee percolator.  I didn’t even cheap out and get the made in China one; I went with a nice Bialetti percolator that they claim was made in Italy.  The seven or eight months that I have left in Spain is too long to be drinking crappy coffee, and it’s too expensive to go out for coffee every time I want some.  Right before I started this post, I sat down with a cup of homemade coffee and a slice of apple pie, and I’m so happy I got the coffee maker.  And went with the Lavazza coffee instead of the store brand.  Because Arabica beans are key, people.  I wrote a whole thesis on coffee in my undergrad studies, so I can pretend to be a coffee authority.  But really, Arabica makes a difference.  And now I’m clearly rambling.  The coffee and the sugar will do that.  Time for another slice of pie, and then the rest of this post.

Spanish Apple Pie.

Ingredients:

For the filling:

  • About a kilogram of apples, cored and sliced into eighths.  {I left the peels on because they’re good for you and I couldn’t find a vegetable peeler.}
  • 1/2 cup sugar {That’s about an overflowing palmful if you don’t have measuring cups.}
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon. {More if you really like cinnamon.  About a third to a half of a palmful if you don’t have measuring spoons.}

For the topping:

  • 1/2 cup sugar {see above if you don’t have measuring cups.}
  • 2/3 cup all purpose flour {a really overflowing palmful}
  • 1/3 cup butter or margarine {a good chunk}

Crust:

  • La cocinera homemade empanada dough.  A pack of 16 was perfect for my 25cmx25cm square Pyrex dish.  {Normally I’m not a fan of pre-made crusts, but these had fewer preservatives and stuff than they do back home.  Feel free to use pre-made dough where you are, assuming pre-made empanada dough isn’t a thing there.}

Directions:

  • Take out your refrigerated dough ahead of time.  I’m not sure why, but my package said 10 minutes before you need it.
  • Preheat your oven to 200 degrees Celcius. (400 F)
  • Mix the apples with the cinnamon and sugar.
  • Line your baking pan with empanada dough.  I went around the sides, overlapping a little, and then filled in the middle.  15 individual empanada doughs were actually the perfect number, but I ripped off pieces from the last one and filled in anywhere that I thought needed a little extra.
  • Fill your crust with filling.
  • Make your topping.  Bonus, if you do it in this order, you can use the filling bowl to mix the topping, and only have one bowl to wash.
  • The most important thing is keeping the ratios consistent if you change the measurements at all.  {I’m pretty sure I needed more topping than the original recipe called for, but I made sure to use enough butter so the flour wouldn’t burn.}
  • Mix your sugar and flour for the topping, and cut the butter into the mixture until it’s all crumbly.
  • Pour the topping over the filling.
  • Bake for 40 to 50 minutes until golden brown.  My flour wasn’t all cooked when I pulled my pie out of the oven, but if I’d left it in longer, my crust would have burnt.  So, use your judgement.
  • Let cool.
  • Slice a piece, or two or four, and enjoy 🙂
20141103-151941-55181612.jpg

artistic apple-slicing next to the dough

20141103-151942-55182475.jpg

making the filling in a popcorn bowl

20141103-151943-55183333.jpg

sugar and cinnamon have been added

20141103-151944-55184219.jpg

line your pie plate with empanada dough

20141103-151945-55185128.jpg

make your topping

20141103-151946-55186079.jpg

prepare to bake

20141103-152250-55370324.jpg

It’s gorgeous when it comes out of the oven!

20141103-152252-55372218.jpg

complicated coffee assembly

20141103-152252-55372987.jpg

I can light burners and make coffee all by myself!

20141103-152251-55371084.jpg

finished product is so good together

20141103-152326-55406346.jpg

view from my run this morning

20141103-152323-55403451.jpg

Dinner last night with my roommate. No idea what it was but it was good!

20141103-152324-55404593.jpg

after-dinner gelato

3 thoughts on “Spanish Apple Pie and my new Italian Percolator

  1. Didn’t know there was such a thing as pre-made empanada dough. My dear friend, Ivis, makes the best empanadas. I need to ask her to show me how she mixes the dough. She rolls out the little dough balls lickety split. Timely recipe since apples are in season here in north Missouri.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t seen premade empanada dough in the states, just since I came to Spain. I would have used a pie crust here, but I couldn’t find any, so I thought the empanadas might work. They were a little thinner (read, crispier) than normal pie crust, but it worked out just fine 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

