Easy Cheesy Tuna Pasta

You guys, I’m finally empadronated!  Just kidding, that’s not a word.  Just a little Spanglish for you.  I am, however, finally empadronada.  That means that Palma and Spain finally recognize that I live here, and I can finally get resident discounts and commuter fairs on the train and bus.  And flights to mainland Spain, because the rest of Spain can travel amongst itself fairly easily and cheaply, but I have to get on a plane (or ferry, but that’s another story) if I want to see the rest of “my” country, or Europe.  I am so thankful for my roommate who went with me and used herself as human collateral to get me “in”.  And while I know I could have completed the process on my own if I had to, it was so nice to have a Spaniard on my side.

For example, when we got to my appointment, my roommate explained which of the possible ways we were going to empadronate me {even if I made the word up, I love saying it}, and the woman helping us asked where I was from, and declared that she didn’t think we could do it that way.  And then promptly looked at our documents and realized we could.  Little things like that.  Or deciding to give me a resident municipal bus fare instead of a student one, even though I had a sheet of paper from the Ministry of Education.  And I’m not so worried about that, since I won’t be taking the bus within Palma so much, it’s across the island to work that I’m concerned about.

Regardless, I’m glad to be done with the paperwork!  I get to pick up my TIE – the card that goes along with my Spanish residency number {different than the Palma residency card that I got today}, and be 100% completely done with bureaucracy, at least for now.  I even went to the transportation people and got my bus/train card handled today.  Woo!

After dealing with paper-pushers {Remember that episode of Rugrats where Tommy and Chuckie think being an adult is sweeping paper everywhere and drinking mud?}, we stopped for churros con chocolate, which was perfect since it was pouring rain, and I actually haven’t had any since I’ve been in Spain this time around.  So delicious.  I’ll definitely be back to the churro place, and there’s also another churro place I want to try.

In the meantime, last night’s dinner was another thrown together Spanish wonder.  I wanted to pick up ground beef from the local Mercadona, which tends to be a little cheaper than Corte Inglés, but the ground meat didn’t expire for a week, which is kind of disturbing in itself, and when I read the label, it was only 80% actual meat, the rest was corn and rice gluten and dextrose.  How gross!!  I schlepped over to Corte Inglés but they were out of meat, so I stopped at the bakery for a nice hot loaf of bread {which I promptly ate most of}, and went back to Mercadona to pick up some tuna.  So there you have it… pasta with tomato sauce and tuna.  It’s definitely a love or hate thing; if you don’t like hot tuna you won’t like this.  But for the rest of us, it’s an easy way to get some protein into that deliciously carb-y pasta.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 box penne rigate
  • 1 smaller can pureed tomatoes {not the 28 ounce size, but the smaller one}
  • 1 can tuna in water.
  • As much Parmesan cheese as you want.
  • Olive oil and butter for the pasta.

Directions:

  • Heat a pot of salted water to a boil.
  • Cook the pasta according to package directions and drain.  It’s better to be on the less-done side of al-dente than to be overcooked.
  • Return the pasta to the pot with a tablespoon of butter.
  • Stir the can of tomato puree into the pasta.
  • Drain the tuna and add.
  • Drizzle with olive oil and mix well.
  • Add cheese and mix until well combined.
  • Top with cheese and enjoy 🙂
20141106-170807-61687240.jpg

super easy tuna pasta

20141106-170808-61688037.jpg

Churros.  They were so delicious I had to share 🙂

2 thoughts on “Easy Cheesy Tuna Pasta

  1. The joys of resident’s discounts are amazing! I love flashing my Thai diving license and paying at least 50% less for everything 🙂 Tuna pasta is one of my favourites, and this recipe looks delicious! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

