Sunday Pancakes. The best of all worlds. Butter-free and delicious!

Sunday has become pancake day around here for me.  I love taking the time to relax in the kitchen and make something that’s like a little buttery piece of home before I gear up for another hectic week.  And, as an added bonus, these past few weeks I’ve been in between roommates, so I’ve been able to camp out in the kitchen as much as I like!

This morning, after first running out to get my weekly supply of nun-made bread, I came back to make my current pancake recipe, the perfect combination of elements of two previous favorites; this one by Canadian food network’s Michael Smith that I had written about here, and this one on Chatelaine that I wrote about here.  I tweaked things a bit more… today I left out butter because my Greek yogurt was full-fat, and I added brown sugar and Chia seeds.  Neither original pancake recipe called for any sugar, but I think it’s an important part of the pancake, and it counteracts the taste of the baking powder, plus I have a lot of brown sugar on hand right now.  And since I live on an island, there are no cool dry places to store it and I want to use it up.  Chia seeds just happen to be my new favorite ingredient, since they’re high in protein, fiber, and antioxidants, and you really can’t taste them.

You need more milk than the recipe calls for – without extra milk it comes out too thick and gloopy.  I like to add just enough to make the batter more of a liquid than a sludge, but not so much that it’s watery.  Also, I learned a new trick this morning – with these particular pancakes, it’s helpful to use a bit less batter than you would normally, and pick up the pan and swirl it around to increase the batter surface area.

Also, these were the first pancakes that I made without any butter in the batter or in the pan.  The first few got cooked in the leftover pancetta grease, but after that I took advantage of the non-stick skillet I was using, and I was pleasantly surprised.  They didn’t stick to the pan, and I really couldn’t taste a difference.

What’s your favorite pancake recipe?  These are definitely my new favorite.  They’re perfect for a weekend breakfast, especially for everyone on the other side of the Atlantic waking up and wondering what to make.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 2 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup full-fat plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 cup milk, plus more to thin out the batter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbsp Chia seeds

Directions:

  • Measure all dry ingredients, except the chia, into a large mixing bowl.
  • Add the wet ingredients, and stir until well-incorporated, but don’t over-mix.
  • Add the chia seeds and stir so they’re evenly dispersed.
  • Add milk as needed to thin out the batter.
  • Heat your frying pan over medium heat.
  • Drop 1/4 cup-full amounts into the pan.
  • Pick up the pan and swirl to coat more of the surface.
  • Cook until bubbles appear in the pancakes and flip then cook the other side.

20141123-133625-48985893.jpg

20141123-133648-49008373.jpg

20141123-133623-48983818.jpg

20141123-133624-48984949.jpg

20141123-133626-48986851.jpg

20141123-133628-48988040.jpg

20141123-133646-49006734.jpg

20141123-133647-49007552.jpg

20141123-133649-49009272.jpg

2 thoughts on “Sunday Pancakes. The best of all worlds. Butter-free and delicious!

Leave a Reply

