Overnight French Toast Casserole

Hey  you guys!  Hope December is still going well!

As you can see if you’ve been following along, I’m on a bit of an overnight kick; things that you can make ahead and then roll out of bed and enjoy.  This weekend I had a 4-day weekend, and really had time to experiment.  I had picked up two loaves of my favorite Spanish bread made by the lovely nuns around the corner {isn’t that a delightful sentence?}, and knew I wanted some for French toast.  But sometimes French toast bores me.  I like to mix it up. {Like the time I made French toast waffles.}  This time I was thinking a sort of French toast casserole, scaled down for the sake of my favorite silicon loaf pan.  Yes, part of me does wish I could marry it.

A lot of the recipes you find online for French toast casserole are delicious, but super-heavy, and meant for a crowd.  I wanted something yummy, but I didn’t want to go overboard, so this is what I came up with.  The recipe is scaled down for a loaf pan, but you could increase it for something larger/feeding more people.

Ingredients:

  • Half of one very large baguette/one normal sized baguette.
  • 4 eggs
  • About 2 cups of milk.
  • Cinnamon

Directions:

  • Prepare your pan with butter if you need to.
  • Tear the bread into random chunks and stuff into the pan.
  • Mix eggs and 1 cup milk and a large dash of cinnamon.
  • Pour over the bread.
  • Add more milk as needed.  You want most of the bread to be sitting in milk.
  • Sprinkle with more cinnamon.
  • Cover with foil and refrigerate overnight.
  • In the morning, take the loaf out of the fridge and preheat the oven at 350 degrees F.
  • Bake the loaf for about an hour.  {It does take a while, but it’s totally hands-off time, and I’m not entirely convinced that my Spanish oven isn’t as powerful as normal/I haven’t fully mastered the metric conversion.}
  • Keep in mind, the longer you bake the loaf, the crispier it will get.  For a softer texture, you can take it out sooner.
  • Slice and serve!  Butter, maple syrup, or even powdered sugar would go great on this!

Sorry for the lack of non-blurry pictures, but it really is yummy!

Do you have a go-to French toast casserole?

20141210-113935-41975043.jpg

Step one.

20141210-113944-41984281.jpg

Ready for the fridge.

20141210-113935-41975964.jpg

In the morning.

20141210-113936-41976866.jpg

After baking.

20141210-113937-41977842.jpg

I had my french toast with a sunny-side up egg and a sauteed apple. Delicious!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Overnight French Toast Casserole

Leave a Reply

