Avocado Brownies that don’t suck. I promise.

Hey you guys.  Happy Friday.  I know, it’s still Thursday, but for me that’s Friday, which after this week is welcomed with open arms.  Last night I was having serious chocolate cravings, and that’s how these avocado brownies were born!  Today I’m thrilled to come home to them and some Ben and Jerry’s in my freezer!

Overall, I’ve been trying to eat healthily.  My carby snacks have been replaced by fruits and veggies, and I do feel healthier, but sometimes you need some chocolate.  I’ve tried avocado brownies in the past, and they just aren’t the same.  The texture is always all floopy, and if the avocados aren’t ripe enough, you see chunks in the brownies.  Gross.  Instead, I decided to make brownies that just happened to have avocado in them.  Maybe, if I took away the “healthy” label, I could make something healthy that didn’t taste like sock fuzz.  And I think I did it.

Yummy Avocado Brownies!

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 4 ounces baking chocolate, chopped
  • 1/2 very ripe avocado, mashed {If it’s not ripe it won’t mash up and you’ll have chunks.}
  • 3  eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour {I stayed on the healthy kick.  With all the chocolate, you can’t really tell, although if you’re concerned about the wheatiness, feel free to sub in whole wheat pastry flour, or even all-purpose flour}.

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F, {about 220 C}.
  2. Prepare your 8×8 pan if you need to {with butter}.
  3. Melt butter and baking chocolate in the microwave.
  4. Mash avocado in a large mixing bowl.
  5. Pour butter/chocolate mixture over avocado.
  6. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition.
  7. Add sugar and vanilla and stir.
  8. Add cocoa powder and flour and stir until well combined.
  9. Spread into baking dish and bake for 25 minutes.
  10. Brownies will have a nice crackly top when done but still be very soft.  Let chill to all come together if desired, or eat right out of the pan.

I don’t have a lot of pictures, because I was too busy devouring brownies to take more.  Do enjoy my pretty green Lékué spatula though.  It was pretty and on sale and I needed one.  And sadly, they’re not paying me to say that.  It’s just a nice spatula.

IMG_2324Jan 22, 2015

IMG_2323Jan 22, 2015

IMG_2325Jan 22, 2015

I’m so glad I found a lighter version of my favorite brownies!!  What’s your favorite brownie recipe?  How do you lighten up your favorite dessert?

5 thoughts on “Avocado Brownies that don’t suck. I promise.

Leave a Reply

