Salmon Melt with Cheddar Cheese on a Homemade Bagel

I don’t know about you, but sometimes, I love leftovers.  Especially when I can re-purpose them into something new.  If you’re keeping up with the whole story, last night I had salmon and lentils for dinner, and, yada yada metric system, had a bit left over.  I wasn’t about to let amazing salmon go to waste, but fish also isn’t something I like to let hang around my fridge forever.  For lunch today I got creative, and made a tuna melt of sorts.  I’m calling it a salmon melt, and it was a big hit with me.

I used the last of my homemade bagels for my bread, {All of the toasted nutty seeds were delicious!} but feel free to use whatever bread suits you.  You could even skip the salmon and make this with tuna.  And any cheese you like.  All you need is a fish, a cheese, a bread, and a heat source, and you’re golden.  Here’s how I did it:

Salmon Cheddar Melt on a Homemade Bagel:

Ingredients:

  • Fresh cooked flaked salmon {about 2 ounces}
  • Cheddar cheese {enough to melt}
  • 1 bagel, toasted and split into two open face halves.
  • Butter for the pan.

Directions:

  • Melt butter in a large skillet over medium heat.
  • On one side of your toasted bagel, layer cheddar cheese and flaked salmon.
  • Close sandwich, and carefully transfer to pan.
  • F lip after a few minutes.
  • Repeat on opposite side.
  • Remove from heat when cheese is melty and bread/bagel is golden brown.
  • Slice in half and serve.

IMG_2359Jan 24, 2015

IMG_2360Jan 24, 2015

IMG_2363Jan 24, 2015

What’s your favorite way to eat leftovers?  Have you ever tried a salmon melt?

*I had the most  beautiful melty pictures after I cut it in half, but my internet is being slow tonight.  I’ll try and load them for you guys later.  In the meantime, enjoy the melted salmon glory 🙂

4 thoughts on “Salmon Melt with Cheddar Cheese on a Homemade Bagel

Leave a Reply

