Brown Butter Apple Muffins

Happy Wednesday!!  It might be one of my new favorite days of the week.  It’s so nice to sit in a quiet kitchen with a cup of coffee, reading blogs and whatever else I like, without having to rush out the door before sunrise.  Today, I’m waiting for the gas man.  Our gas-powered water heater has started having little explosions lately – nothing major except sparks fly out and it sounds like a car backfiring/gunshot for a moment, and then it’s back to normal.  Just to be on the safe side, the gas guy is coming today to check it out.

In the meantime, I’m also waiting for some brown butter apple muffins to come out of the oven!!  They’re really similar to the brown butter apple loaf I made in the fall, except basically they’re muffins.  American size muffins, according to the packaging of the silicon muffin cups I picked up yesterday.  This could turn into another Lékué love-fest, but I’ll hold off.  Except they’re colorful and silicon and amazing!!

In my quest to have healthy snacks, I’ve been throwing apples into my bag at work every day without checking if there might already be some leftover apples in there.  Yesterday I realized I had a few apples with brown spots that would be perfect for baking, plus an apple in my fruit bowl that started off as remedial when I got it from the market, with a brown dent.  I’ll spare you and save the market rant for another day, but regardless, I had some baking apples.

If I was being honest, I would call these muffins Whole Wheat Rolled Oat Brown Butter Chia Seed Apple Muffins, but I thought that would be too much of a mouthful to say.  I could have called them “Healthy” Muffins, but I didn’t want to scare people off.  I do think these are pretty healthy muffins, if maybe a little large, but they’re so yummy you won’t be able to tell they’re made with whole wheat flour.  Or that they have some chia seeds in them.  Honestly, I know I’m like a year and a half late to the chia bandwagon, but it’s my current favorite.  It goes well in everything, and you really can’t taste it, but it’s filled with protein and fiber; two important pieces of a healthy diet that are easy to overlook.

I even took the time to add up all of the ingredients and figure out the nutrition information for you.  I’m in a place right now where I want to make sure that everything I put in my body has a purpose.  That means no empty calories and mindless carb-binging {the half a loaf of bakery bread after work yesterday doesn’t count} for me.  In case you’re interested, I’ll put the nutrition info at the bottom of the post.  I think they have a decent amount of protein and fiber, and they’re yummy!  It’s always a good feeling when you save food from the garbage bin {I’m still sad I don’t have compost here} and it actually tastes like something you want to eat!

So, here it goes.  Whole Wheat Rolled Oat Brown Butter Chia Seed Apple Muffins.  They just came out of  the oven, and they’re as good as they look!!

Ingredients:

  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 cup chia seeds
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup whole milk Greek yogurt
  • 3 tbsp apple butter
  • 2 large apples, cored and diced {I leave the skin on, but you can peel them if you like.}

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F {176 C}.  Take your eggs out of the fridge so they can come up to room temperature.
  2. Melt butter in a pan over medium heat until browned and nutty.  Let cool a few minutes so as not to curdle the eggs.
  3. Pour into a large mixing bowl and mix with brown sugar and eggs.
  4. Add flour, rolled oats, cinnamon, chia seeds, baking soda and salt.  Mix until combined.
  5. Add Greek yogurt, apple butter, and apples.  Mix until well distributed but don’t overmix.
  6. Divide evenly into muffin cups.  {I made 6 large muffins.  This would also fill a loaf pan, or probably 12 smaller muffins.}
  7. Bake for 20-30 minutes for large muffins {until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean}, or 1 hour for a loaf.  {Smaller muffins would take less time than large muffins, probably 15-20 minutes.}
  8. Remove from oven and let cool 5-10 minutes.  Enjoy!!!
IMG_2409Jan 28, 2015

New Kitchen Toy Unveiling

IMG_2410Jan 28, 2015

Everything mixed up, plus chia seeds. You should probably add the chia seeds with the other dry ingredients, but this worked too.

IMG_2411Jan 28, 2015

ready for the oven

IMG_2416Jan 28, 2015

All done!

IMG_2417Jan 28, 2015

Creative close-up

IMG_2413Jan 28, 2015

Super close-up

IMG_2419Jan 28, 2015

Naked muffin

IMG_2420Jan 28, 2015

Brunch!

Nutrition Info per large muffin:

Calories: 384

Fat: 13.6g

Carbs: 54.8g

Fiber: 6.8g

Protein: 8.7g

*I’m not a nutritionist.  I got these numbers using MyFitnessPal and a calculator.

What’s your favorite kind of muffin??

4 thoughts on “Brown Butter Apple Muffins

  1. Hope your water heater safe until it is checked out. Sounds scary! I just pinned this recipe. I have only made one recipe that called for brown butter and I know that these little guys are awesome. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Whole Wheat Double Crumb Coffee Cake Muffins | sophisticatedjerseygirl

Leave a Reply

