Gnochhi in Tomato Sauce with Zucchini, Burrata, and Fresh Basil

I’m really beginning to love my three-day weekends.  And my day off on Wednesdays.  Yesterday I took the time to go for a nice run-walk and then grocery shop.  I am seriously getting tired of schlepping everything home from the store carrying water and milk.  I just looked it up on Google Maps, and it’s almost a half mile.  I do enjoy the actual grocery shopping process though.  You never know what you’re going to find!!

Earlier this week I found some gnocchi in the pasta aisle, and yesterday I found Canadian maple syrup, a basil plant, and burrata from Italy.  The maple syrup had nothing to do with this recipe, but I love it because the brand name is “Vertmont”.  I’m definitely skeptical.  I don’t even eat that much maple syrup when I’m at home.  The cost-benefit ratio just isn’t high enough for me.  But, here I would love nothing more than a stack of pancakes loaded with butter and maple syrup.  I’m getting off-topic, but I’ll let you know how the syrup is when I get to it.

The gnocchi I got was good enough, and my new basil plant is prettying up my kitchen, but the star of this dish was the burrata.  I don’t know how I’ve never had it before.  It’s fresh mozzarella with a creamy center.  And it came in the cutest little bucket.  I’m saving the cheese water in my fridge for now {I have no idea for what}, because it was so delicious I can’t bear to toss it yet.  Unless you’re a cheese-hater, you have to go buy some right now.  And eat it all.

Ingredients:

  • 500g gnocchi {Next time I’ll make it from scratch}
  • One decent-size zucchini
  • 1 large can tomato puree
  • 200g burrata
  • Oil and garlic
  • Basil
  • Parmesan cheese

Directions:

  1. I admit I got hungry last night and forgot to sautee any garlic.  But if you were going to, now would be a good time to do so.  If not, slice and sautee your zucchini.
  2. Meanwhile, cook the gnocchi according to package directions.  Mine took 2 minutes.
  3. Drain gnocchi, reserving some of the gnocchi water.
  4. Mix together tomato sauce, gnocchi, and zucchini over low heat.
  5. Slice up the burrata.
  6. Serve gnocchi.
  7. Top with buratta, parmesan cheese, and basil.  {I forgot the basil until my second bowl of gnocchi}
IMG_2452Jan 31, 2015

Fresh basil is always so pretty to have.

IMG_2456Jan 30, 2015

Everything coming together

IMG_2459Jan 31, 2015

Burrata time!

IMG_2460Jan 31, 2015

It’s the best time.

IMG_2463Jan 31, 2015

Look at how delicious it is!!!

IMG_2471Jan 31, 2015

Plating

IMG_2476Jan 31, 2015

Up-close.

IMG_2479Jan 31, 2015

There’s the basil!

What’s your favorite way to cook or eat gnocchi?  Am I the last one to make it to the burrata party, or is it a new thing for you too?  Happy Weekend!

4 thoughts on “Gnochhi in Tomato Sauce with Zucchini, Burrata, and Fresh Basil

Leave a Reply

