Whole Wheat Brown Sugar Avocado Chocolate Chunk Blondies

That’s a mouthful to say!  Happy Friday!  Glad we all made it through the week, in more or less one piece.  Wednesday I used my day off, among other things, to try a new blondie recipe.  I’ve been on my brownie game lately, but I’ve also been struggling with eating right since I finished the marathon.  I’m not entirely surprised.  Now that I don’t have to go to the gym for training, it’s harder to convince myself that that’s where I should be.  Or alternately, I eat half a pan of brownies and then try to spin it away.  As a side note, do anyone else’s feet go numb if they’re on the elliptical for more than ten minutes?

I found a fabulous recipe that called for melted butter, and therefore I wouldn’t need a mixer.  Perfect.  I tweaked it, adding some avocado and whole wheat, and this is what I came up with.  The butter is definitely still in there, but the avocado and the whole wheat flour make it a little bit healthier.  I brought a bunch into work yesterday, just so I wouldn’t eat them all, and by the end of the day they were all gone.

Whole Wheat Brown Sugar Avocado Brownies:

Ingredients:

  • 8 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup mashed very ripe avocado {about 1 medium sized-avocado}
  • 1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • pinch of salt
  • 1  cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 8 ounces dark chocolate chunks

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F, or approx. 176°C.
  2. Prepare a 9×13 baking dish.  {I lined mine with parchment paper for easy blondie-removal and clean-up.}
  3. Combine melted butter, avocado, and brown and white sugars.
  4. Add the eggs, and vanilla if you have it.
  5. Mix in salt and flour.
  6. Add chocolate chunks.  Try not to over-mix.
  7. Press into prepared baking dish, and bake until a knife inserted in the middle comes out clean.  I can’t give you an exact time, because my oven seems to be acting weird.  The recipe I drew my inspiration from suggested 20-25 minutes, but mine we in for a whole hour and weren’t completely set.  Again, probably my oven error.  It’s best to shoot for under-cooked and add time from there.
  8. In theory, you should let your blondies cool on a wire rack before cutting, if you can resist the temptation!  I couldn’t.
IMG_3379Mar 20, 2015

Combine butter, avocado, and sugars.

IMG_3381Mar 20, 2015

After you’ve added the eggs, mix in the flours.

IMG_3385Mar 20, 2015

Stir in the chocolate chunks. You might want more uniform chunks than I had.

IMG_3386Mar 20, 2015

Get your batter into your prepared pan.

IMG_3387Mar 20, 2015

Press into position. Extra points if you can spot the avocado that didn’t get quite mashed up.

IMG_3388Mar 20, 2015

Into the oven it goes!

IMG_3399Mar 20, 2015

All done!

IMG_3400Mar 20, 2015

I couldn’t wait for it to cool.

IMG_3415Mar 20, 2015

Completely unrelated, late night I ran into Spain’s Queen Sofía. {She’s the woman in the direct middle of the picture, facing away from us.}

What’s your favorite blondie recipe? 

4 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Brown Sugar Avocado Chocolate Chunk Blondies

Leave a Reply

