Peanut Butter and Raspberry Jelly Brownies

It’s no secret that I love brownies.  They’re chocolatey, delicious, and easy to make.  Lately I’ve also been on a PB and J kick – is there anything better than a PB and J at the beach? – and I thought I’d try to incorporate the two.  I was anxious about the PB part, since Spaniards really don’t seem to understand it, and I didn’t want to end up eating the whole batch by myself, but I decided to go for it.  I used creamy PB, because that’s what they have here, even though I love crunchy.  I also used raspberry jelly, which I thought made the whole thing a little bit classier than say, strawberry would have done.

Overall, I don’t know that it’s my favorite brownie recipe.  I think I really am more of a classic chocolate person.  The PB and J part might have been unnecessary overkill, and I think I overcooked them just a tad, which is never good.  So err on the side of undercooked.  I should know that by now.  However, ff you love PB and J, you will like these.  Stay tuned for a recipe where I try just PB.  Chocolate and peanut butter is a classic, and I want to try it.

Peanut Butter and Raspberry Jelly Brownies

Ingredients:

Brownies:

  • 4 ounces dark baking chocolate
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • scant cup sugar {the jelly’s going to be sweet enough}
  • 3 eggs, room temperature {Possibly my favorite part about Europe is room temp eggs at the grocery store.  It sounds a little funky, but also means you can bake as soon as you get home from the store without worrying about congealed egg whites in your finished product.}
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour (All-purpose would be fine, but I wanted to add a little extra protein and fiber.  With the peanut butter and jelly, you really can’t tell that it’s whole wheat}

PB&J topping:

  • 1/2 cup raspberry jelly
  • 1/3 cup all-natural peanut butter
  • 1 tsp butter
  • 1 tsp powdered sugar

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350°F {175°C}.  Prepare your 8×8 or 9×9 pan, either with butter or parchment paper.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine sugar with melted butter and chocolate mixture.
  3. Add eggs and cocoa powder and stir well.
  4. Finally mix in the flour, stirring just enough to combine all the ingredients.
  5. Pour the batter into your pan, making sure to spread it into the edges.  You want a nice base for the PB&J topping.
  6. Melt your topping butter in the microwave.  Watch it because it shouldn’t take very long at all.
  7. Mix in the peanut butter, jelly, and powdered sugar.
  8. Drop the topping onto the brownie base and spread it around.
  9. Bake about 30 minutes and remove from oven to cool completely.  If they’re still a little gooey it’s okay – they will keep cooking as they cool, and overcooked brownies are much worse than undercooked ones.
  10. Slice and enjoy 🙂

{Sorry in advance for the picture quality in this post.  Unsurprisingly, apparently standing in the middle of the kitchen holding bowls of things into the light where they photograph better yields blurrier photos than leaving them on the counter.  I thought blurry and visible was better than dark and clear.  Also, I just updated my computer, and Apple seems to have “upgraded” iPhoto with Photos.  So far I hate it, and it doesn’t seem to be “talking” correctly with my watermark program.  So please forgive the fact that for now, my watermark is in the wrong spot on all the photos, and sideways.  I really need to sit down and figure that out, but I wanted to get this recipe up, and the man standing below my window playing “Tequila” on an accordion is trying my patience right now.  Has anyone else had any problems adjusting to Photos?}

IMG_5743May 9, 2015

Sugar, melted butter and chocolate.

IMG_5744May 9, 2015

With the eggs.

IMG_5746May 9, 2015

And the cocoa powder.

IMG_5747May 9, 2015

All the ingredients combined.

IMG_5749May 9, 2015

Topping. Using the glass measuring cup made it really easy to measure and stir without dirtying a bunch of extra measuring cups and spoons.

IMG_5750May 9, 2015

Different view.

IMG_5751May 9, 2015

Brownies and topping pre-oven.

IMG_5752May 9, 2015

Spread around. I also trimmed my parchment paper so it wouldn’t catch on anything in the oven. I know it’s oven-safe, but I don’t like it up against the heating element.

IMG_5753May 9, 2015

All done! It’s hard to see the topping, but if you look carefully, it’s there.

*What’s your favorite brownie recipe?  Do you have a favorite twist on a classic?

3 thoughts on “Peanut Butter and Raspberry Jelly Brownies

Leave a Reply

